Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Deleting Currency
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

Ahem: Dear Website Visitor…

Please select your currency from this fancy drop down list. I know there’s only one currency available! Just select it! rasberry

So yeah, I disabled the other currencies in the store configuration, because I didn’t know how to delete them. But that box still showed up. Is it hard-coded? Or can it be made to go away when there’s only one currency available?

grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

Hi there… this is simply fixed by going to the following…

app/design/frontend/default/default/template/directory/currency.phtml

and changing line 28 from

<?if($this->getCurrencyCount()):?>

to

<?if($this->getCurrencyCount() !=1):?>

Cheers.
P.S I tested this after deleting the extra currencies from the database.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

I just tested with disabling the currencies in the store as well - and it works fine smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

Aha, I’ll have to do that. smile Is there a way to just delete them though?

Also, I was not able to click them in the Manage Currencies section. So maybe that’s a bug? Can someone else confirm?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

not a bug - just not finished yet…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Richard F.
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-09-02
 
Scott - 04 September 2007 05:15 PM

Ahem: Dear Website Visitor…

Please select your currency from this fancy drop down list. I know there’s only one currency available! Just select it! rasberry

So yeah, I disabled the other currencies in the store configuration, because I didn’t know how to delete them. But that box still showed up. Is it hard-coded? Or can it be made to go away when there’s only one currency available?

grin

Hi there,

Could you please tell me how to remove the Euro and Canadian Dollar from the Currency Options in System > Configuration ?

I am on Safari in Mac OS 10.4.10; if it makes any difference. I cannot see a way to remove them.

Thank you in advance.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

Hi there, at the moment you can’t - but you can remove them using phpmyadmin (or another mysql interface). If you need further help to do this please post and i will provide more detailed instructions.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Richard F.
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-09-02
 
Ajazza - 04 September 2007 07:05 PM

Hi there, at the moment you can’t - but you can remove them using phpmyadmin (or another mysql interface). If you need further help to do this please post and i will provide more detailed instructions.

Yes, please, I would love as much details as you can provide to do this. This is a steep learning curve for me and Varien will probbaly be able to collect bits from all over this forum to form their Magento Documentation later down the road.

Thank you again.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

Hi Richard.

1. Login to phpmyadmin
2. Choose the magento database
3. click the small icon beside the table ‘directory_currency_name’
4. simply click on the red x to delete the currencies you do not want.

Do the same for the ‘directory_currency’ table (it will still work if you don’t but best we keep them in sync)

Cheers
Adam

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Richard F.
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-09-02
 

grin

How do I log into 1) ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

It depends where you are running magento? is it live or local?
If local then try http://localhost/phpmyadmin - if it is live - have a look in your control panel that your host would have provided to you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Richard F.
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2007-09-02
 

It will be live once I get it working on Dreamhost and if not on Nexcess.

I’ll have a look tomorrow. Thank you very much for your patience and help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

The guys at nexcess are really helpful, I’m glad Roy posted a link to them. I went with their VPS, and it’s the best VPS I’ve ever had to date. Course I made sure they set it up with Magento compatability. Was cheaper than my old one too. smile

Course, you need to know some basics on server management because VPS’s are unmanaged, meaning you usually have to do everything yourself.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kimbu
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-01-29
 

hi

I am new to magento, have just installed Magento Preview 0.7.15480 (January 29, 2008).

I dont have fhe tables (directory_currency_name , directory_currency ) in the magento database with that currencys - is there something
changed since your description - I didnt understand where these values come from..
whre can I add/delete curencies on db ?

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
leopinho
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-03-24
 

I’m using Magento 1.2.1.2 and I have the same problem. There are no directory_currency_name , directory_currency tables on my database and I don’t know how to change/add/delete some currency.

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
leopinho
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-03-24
 

I just figured out how to add some currency to Magento:

1) Edit \magento\lib\Zend\Locale\Data\en.xml and add the currency to currencies node:
<currency type="XXX">
<displayName>XXX Points</displayName>
<displayName count="one">XXX Point</displayName>
<displayName count="other">XXX Points</displayName>
<symbol>XX$</symbol>
</currency>
2) Clear cache, delete files directory \magento\var\cache\*
3) Restart Apache.
4) Go to System -> Configuration -> Advanced -> System -> Currency -> Installed Currencies: select “XXX Points” and click Save Config.
5) Go to System -> Configuration -> General -> Currency Setup and choose “XXX Points” to allow currencies.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top