Magento Forum

Page 12 of 13
Export & import categories
 
neit
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2010-06-16
 

Hello

I have been looking at this over the last few weeks
and santhosh script with a small modification was able
to import 46000 categories for version Magento ver. 1.6.2.0
but it appears to killed the front end and nothing but shop banners
appears now. This may be related to the number of categories, i’m not sure.

When I try to export this catgories i get the following:

Starting profile execution, please wait…
Warning: Please do not close the window during exporting data
Starting export profile execution.
Loaded 45832 records

But the data records do not export, the categories.csv file is created
in the export folder but with no data.

Any advice would be great.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ryan Grow
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  21
Joined:  2009-12-04
 

Make sure you refresh your cache and run compilation after installing the module.

The error “Method “parse” not defined in adapter catalogone/convert_adapter_category” means that magneto can’t find the code, so it can’t run it…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
AnnekeH
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2012-06-11
 

Hi, I’ve been using Santhosh’s extension which he posted on October 24 2010 and it works great!
Thank you, Santhosh!

Some of the categories in our shop are constructed like this:
Ties / Scarfs.

It’s impossible to import subcategories in these categories because of their delimiter, the forward slash /

Where in Santhosh s extension should i change the separator, from forward slash / to something like underscore _ to make importing in these categories possible?

I think at least in the file app/code/local/santhosh/import/helper/category.php

But where exactly and where else?

Thanks for all your help!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
normanyclark
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  28
Joined:  2012-05-07
India
 
Ryan Grow - 14 May 2012 09:30 AM

Make sure you refresh your cache and run compilation after installing the module.

The error “Method “parse” not defined in adapter catalogone/convert_adapter_category” means that magneto can’t find the code, so it can’t run it…

Hello

All code gives the error like ‘Method’’ parse’ not defined etc in adapter category. I have same error occur in mine.Can you suggest us the exact code if you found. ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chicurel
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2011-02-22
 
normanyclark - 18 June 2012 01:03 AM

Ryan Grow - 14 May 2012 09:30 AM
Make sure you refresh your cache and run compilation after installing the module.

The error “Method “parse” not defined in adapter catalogone/convert_adapter_category” means that magneto can’t find the code, so it can’t run it…

Hello

All code gives the error like ‘Method’’ parse’ not defined etc in adapter category. I have same error occur in mine.Can you suggest us the exact code if you found. ?

Hi!,
Maybe this can help you, or maybe you have onother error. I was crazy with this same error, and after about two hours, I realized that was only a simple error in config.xml file. I am trying to rewrite the method in a local module, and in the config file I had something like this

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<config>
    <
modules>
        <
Company_Catalog>
            <
version>0.1.0</version>
        </
Company_Catalog>
    </
modules>
    <global>
        <
models>
            <
catalog>
                <
rewrite>
                    <
convert_adapter_category>Company_Catalog_Model_Convert_Adapter_Category
                    
</convert_adapter_category>
                </
rewrite>
            </
catalog>
        </
models>
    </global>
</
config>

If you read it, you didn´t see any error, but the problem was that I was using Eclipse as Editor, and used the code formating shortcut Ctr-Shift-F. This had adding a Newline after Category !! (really are spaces not a newline) so, the system, when trying to find the class was looking for ‘Category.  .php’ So, the system didn’t find the file, as Ryan Grow had said.

This was my system.log

2012-06-29T20:35:20+00:00 ERR (3): Warning: include(Company\Catalog\Model\Convert\Adapter\Category
                    
.php[<a href='function.include'>function.include</a>]failed to open streamNo such file or directory  in \lib\Varien\Autoload.php on line 93

Note all the spaces before .php wink

So, check out if this could be the problem..

BTW, thanks for the script!! working even in 1.7.0.0 version wink

P.S.: Maybe this can be added as a new feature or be considered as bug, but Magento team should add a trim before the include! don’t you think so? don’t sure where to add that trim, but maybe in core/Mage/Core/Model/Config.php

P.S.2: I was reading the Magento code, and in fact there was a trim, but in the function getModelClassName of Config.php, but, in this case, the system is calling the function getGroupedClassName that is not using any trim wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sergiy90
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2012-08-14
 

It;s a pity Magento doesnt support category import from file. What i import by admin is customers. Untill no universal built in function is available I use this extension to import all other data including categories. Maybe somebody also uses it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ashley07
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2012-05-04
 

I get this error when trying to run the profile.

Starting profile execution, please wait…
Warning: Please do not close the window during importing/exporting data
Starting Mage_Dataflow_Model_Convert_Adapter_Io :: load
Loaded successfully: “/var/www/vhosts/07heavendesign.co.uk/httpdocs/DCS/var/import/Categories.csv”.
Starting Mage_Dataflow_Model_Convert_Parser_Csv :: parse
Method “parse” not defined in adapter catalog/convert_adapter_category.
Finished profile execution.

Is there a fix?

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tetta
Member
 
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2012-08-23
Belarus, Minsk
 

Hello! It seems, that Santhosh’s module works great. But it is not clear, did it works on ver.1.6.2.0?
And what should I do to install it? I’m new in magento, so I’ll happy to take some help

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
paulkkarns
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2012-09-25
 

Thanks vidhulac ,

I am newbie here and in magento also, For share such a useful and important reply here

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kroeger
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2012-09-02
 

To export categories with IDs use this code :

<?php
 
    define
('MAGENTO'realpath(dirname(__FILE__)));
    require_once 
MAGENTO '/app/Mage.php';
    
Mage::app();
 
    
$category Mage::getModel 'catalog/category' );
    
$tree $category->getTreeModel ();
    
$tree->load ();
     
    
$ids $tree->getCollection ()->getAllIds ();
     
    if (
$ids{
        $file 
"var/import/catwithid.csv";
        
file_put_contents($file,"catId, catNamen");
        foreach ( 
$ids as $id {
          $string 
$id ', ' .$category->load($id)->getName() . "n";
            
file_put_contents($file,$string,FILE_APPEND);
        
}
    }

To import a file (csv or other) with categories (it can be also products and other entities) you can use one of the extensions for Magento. I used this one and I’m very satisfied.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magento_testuse
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2010-03-19
 

Hi,

I want to upload category store wise. please find attached file.

I tried with this attached csv, but it creating diffrent categories.  e.g. 1) Apparel 2) Apparelfr

what to do for it,will you give me idea how to import category store wise.

Image Attachments
cat.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
deraderut
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-12-10
 

How can i get ‘Use Parent Category Settings’ become automatically ‘yes’?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
R_O_C_K_Y
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-12-21
 

Hi, I have got the original Santhosh category import method to work but When I import Santhosh’s import/export extension to Magento 1.7.0.2 the menu bar in admin disappears. It only returns if I change the names of the three adminhtml.xml files. Has anyone got any installation notes? Do I add the extension files to the original files and what xml code should I use in the Advanced Profile? Thanks to anyone who can help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
yuioert147890
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2013-01-02
 

Using sonic <a href="http://www.clarisonicmiasaleshop.com/"><strong>Clarisonic Mia</strong></a> technology, the works with your skin’s natural elasticity to gently remove the impurities that <a href="http://www.clarisonicmiasaleshop.com/"><strong>Clarisonic Outlet</strong></a> traditional methods leave behind giving you <a href="http://www.clarisonicmiasaleshop.com/"><strong>Clarisonic Mia Sale</strong></a> softer, smoother and more beautiful skin. <a href="http://www.clarisonicmiasaleshop.com/"><strong>www.clarisonicmiasaleshop.com</strong></a> <br>
<p>High quality <a href="http://www.canadagooseparkas4u.com/"><strong>Canada Goose Outlet</strong></a> price saving up you 50% money. Shop at official jacket website. It will increase the charm of your character. Because <a href="http://www.canadagooseparkas4u.com/"><strong>Click Here</strong></a> to the favorite make of has been recognised by everyone, <a href="http://www.canadagooseparkas4u.com/"><strong>Visit Home Page</strong></a> possess a wonderful amount of purchasers.<a href="http://www.canadagooseparkas4u.com/"><strong>www.canadagooseparkas4u.com</strong></a> <br>
This name was chosen <a href="http://www.northfaceusoutletx.com/"><strong>North Face US Outlet</strong></a> because the of a mountain in the northern hemisphere is generally the most difficult face to climb. The <a href="http://www.northfaceusoutletx.com/"><strong>North Face Outlet</strong></a> manufactured nearly half of all small backpacks sold in the United States. Super <a href="http://www.northfaceusoutletx.com/"><strong>North Face Jacket</strong></a> lightweight and incredibly warm, is an essential alpine <a href="http://www.northfaceusoutletx.com/"><strong>www.northfaceusoutletx.com</strong></a> tool for layering and aerobic summit pushes. It is hot sale now! <br>
<a href="http://www.coachoutletonline-2u.com/"><strong>Coach Outlet</strong></a> in order promote products so give a big discount the discount about 80% take it easy more benefit you got from our shop such as <strong><a href="http://www.coachoutletonline-2u.com/">www.coachoutletonline-2u.com</a></strong> free shippment and fine packing. For most of you would like to come. So just come to <a href="http://www.coachoutletonline-2u.com/"><strong>Click Here</strong></a> to choose one. Don’t miss the great chance to own one world-famous bag.</p>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gfxguru
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  186
Joined:  2008-11-20
 

Has anyone come up with the code to do this for latest Magento 1.72. There is no way I’m paying for a service to import. That’s just crazy. we can do this in code. I know it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 12 of 13