Magento Forum

Can Magento monitor competitors pricing? 

Fluvius

Total Posts:  22
Exeter, Devon, UK

Hi,

I’m very new to Magento, but already extremely impressed by it and its extensive capabilities.

I’m wondering if Magento can monitor competitors pricing, highlighting those products in the store(s) which are x% different from the average price on competitors websites.

Don’t ask me exactly how this price comparison is performed, but I know there are some e-commerce sites out there that can do this, helping the store owner to keep their pricing competitive.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Tony.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

cbsteven

Total Posts:  73

Not by default, although I suppose it could be done by an experienced programmer. It would not be a small project, though.

Magento Community
Magento Community

Damian Culotta
Enthusiast

Total Posts:  878
Argentina

@Fluvius

1) Can you describe how that functionality has to work?

2) I supouse that you want to check any site (not onlye Magento platforms, don’t you?

Magento Community
Magento Community

Fluvius

Total Posts:  22
Exeter, Devon, UK

Damián Culotta - 16 December 2008 04:28 AM

@Fluvius

1) Can you describe how that functionality has to work?

2) I supouse that you want to check any site (not onlye Magento platforms, don’t you?

Having not seen the actual way that similar e-commerce sites with this functionality perform (I only know of 3 or 4 but I’ve not looked at their underlying code), I guess that it would take either the description of the product or the manufacturer’s product code (or both) and do a simple Google-style search query to return as many product matches as possible. This price information would then be averaged and compared to the price used on the Magento site, perhaps highlighting those products that are x% more than that average.