Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Code snippets and logic

conticreative

Total Posts:  38

Greeting to all in Magentoland. I am very new to Magento but I am an old salt integrating all sort of Open Source projects, from Zen Cart to Drupal, to Joomla (which is my CMS of choice).

In studying Magento I realized that much of the front end presentation is done via custom tags in {{this type of format}}, which reminds me of the old days integrating a custom java application in the 90’s.

I was able to retrieve a few snippets of syntax here and there in the forum, with some working fine and others not so well, but I was wondering if there is a snippet repository somewhere I can refer to. I can’t seem to find anything like it and what I find is often old enough to be possibly obsolete.
I did read a few posts of kind souls that tried piecing together the most used snippets in their forum posts, giving me a hint that such repository was not in existence at the time of their writing.
Such a repository would be very useful I believe.

I’d appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction as to where I can find a full explanation of the Magento syntax, complete with code snippets that actually work. And yes, I did read the manual. Did Imiss it?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Below is something I wrote about my first impressions with Magento. Read only if interested, it’s not related to my request for help.