Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

… add additional ‘simple products’ to a configurable product AFTER I have created it? 

Chelramsey

Total Posts:  33

Hello Everyone.

I am new to Magento and have spent the last 17 hours trying to figure out configurable products. It seems REALLY really really really tediously designed for shops that have a lot of customization items. I am surprised at this considering how far ahead Magento is from the other ecommerce stuff out there.

My problem is of course, the same as everyone else in the sense that I have about 50 products to enter but when you get done with all the configurable choices, its going to be like 3400. Its really really really really disheartening =(

I have figured how to make the simple products then add them to your configurable product. My question is, is it possible to add additional simple products AFTER you make the configurable product the first go around. Like if you for got a combination or something?

And also, is there ANY hope AT ALL of some easier way to handle this type of thing? Because this is just going to make Magento unusable for some.

Thanks so much in advance.. and I still think Magento is awesome wink

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Chelramsey

Ok. I think I answered this myself finally.

After creating new simple product options, you have go into the configurable product and click on Associated Products then click the ‘reset filter’ button to get the new items to show up.

They still need to make it easier =P

Magento Community
Magento Community

chrisrboggs

Total Posts:  9