Magento Forum

Download & Install Extensions

nplanet

Total Posts:  31

I am going through core and community extensions. But don’t know how to download them and install them in Magento on our local server.

How can I do this?

Please guide me here.

Regards,

ycv

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

iiNTENSE
Guru

Total Posts:  432
Lansing, MI

You can install them in your admin panel under Magento Connect.

Magento Community
Magento Community

chocopink

Total Posts:  20

Hi, I’ve been trying to do this all day!!!  I am very new to magento, e-commerce, and have definately received the overachiever of the year award.  However, I have manged to do a great job teaching myself everything i have needed to get my website up and running.  The only thing left is to figure out this e-commerce thing. 

I have used the Magento Connect and have copied the key like i’m supposed to.  I tried to download two extentions - the modern and the blank- with no success.  How long are they supposed to take to download?  Both downloads ran for about 2 hrs. they both looked like they were finished (i let it run about a half hour for each), when I tried to go back to the admin panel i received a message saying somthing about pear still running and navigating away from the page with cause the install to stop.  does it typically take that long to download an extention?

also, i tried to go into the system-> configuration-> design to see if maybe it did download by change, but I dont see where i can choose the extention.  should i just type the name of the extention, i.e. Blank Interface or Interface_Frontend_Blank?

I just downloaded the 1.1.8 version on Friday and am progressing.... very slowly, but definately surely.  Any help is greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Magento Community
Magento Community

iiNTENSE
Guru

Lansing, MI

You can manually download them at:

Modern Theme

Blank Theme