Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Version 1.6: Bulk import images fail

wychee

Total Posts:  4

Hi

I am new to Magento, and I have version 1.6 installed.

I am trying to bulk import my products with images into my webstore.

Problem was, after running System -> Import -> Products, the import seemed successful (with message \"Import successfully done..\” appeared), but I only got the products WITHOUT the image displayed.

In my import csv file, under \’media_gallery\’ column, I have put /media/import.
Separately i have also uploaded the image from my PC into this folder.

Did anyone encounter this problem? What did I do wrong here?

Thanks.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

techno0270

Total Posts:  2

The important image fields in your CSV file are image, small_image & thumbnail.  If you have imported (ftp) your files to media/import then your image, small_image & thumbnail fields should reference their respective image file as such: /image1.jpg.

Magento Community
Magento Community

techno0270

So, the best thing for you to do is to create a few sample products manually, including uploading images.  Then, do a export.  The resulting csv catalog file will show you all the required fields.

Here is the problem I have with the entire csv product upload process.

I have over 5000 products so for me it makes sense to do it this way, but there is a catch:

I have created my csv template by first creating dummy products and exporting the catalog.  Beautiful!
I populated that CSV, including image names and uploaded my products.  Fantastic!