Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Blank frontpage
 
Flaxion
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-11-05
 

I have searched around in here for a while, but none of the previous answers helps.

www.fremshop.dk <-- see.. the frontpage is blank.. it went blank after the first time I deactivated the cache (the layout-guide told me to..)

I’m new to magento, so I’m a bit lost right now..

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cavh
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

www.fremshop.de doesn’t have a DNS entry at the moment?

>ping www.fremshop.de
Ping request could not find host www.fremshop.de. Please check the name and try
again.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Flaxion
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-11-05
 

it’s .dk, not .de

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cavh
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

Sorry, I misread the URL - silly me!

I think the issue is that your home page doesn’t contain the code that builds the product list: see this tutorial which I found and is very helpful:

http://www.vimeo.com/1070986

If you already have this code in the page, try reactivating the cache? I’m also new to Magento.

Clive

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fupper
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2008-11-27
 

Hi, download and install the samples! you will have the sample frontpage where u can work from there.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Testlab
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2008-12-04
 

Im having th same problem too. I did downloaded the sample DB and installed it thru phpmyadmin but nothing shows.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Flaxion
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-11-05
 
fupper - 04 December 2008 05:44 AM

Hi, download and install the samples! you will have the sample frontpage where u can work from there.

I have no idea what you’re talking about.. What sample?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
norbolig
Guru
 
Total Posts:  328
Joined:  2008-03-15
 

You can find the latest ver. 1.1.2 Sample Data her:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/download/assets/1.1/magento-sample-data-1.1.tar.gz

You must install the sample data prior to the basic Magento installation.

After a sucessful installation, your frontpage will look like the Magento Store Demo.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Flaxion
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-11-05
 

Eh.. I have now both tried to install it all, all over. Didn’t work, and now I tried uploading the sample data.. I cannot import the sql file to the database. it says:
Fejl
SQL-forespørgsel:

--
-- Table structure for table `admin_assert`
--
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `admin_assert` ;

MySQL returnerede:

#1046 - No database selected

don’t mind the wierd words, it’s just danish smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Flaxion
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-11-05
 

Um.. I didn’t get the sample-data to work, but I did as the video said and it worked.. strange that it has to be that complicated :S

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top