Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Show short description on front page? 

MazeDK

Total Posts:  68

Hi,

I’m new to Magento, and is working on customizing the web shop, so it will fit my needs. I have used this forum a lot, and have found lots of answers to my questions, but this one has got me stuck..

I want to show the short description of my products on the front page, below the pictures of the newly added products. So under each picture of the new product, the description will show. Therefor I thought that i could just take the bit of code from the file catalog/product/view.phtml

<?php if ($_product->getShortDescription()):?>

<h4><?php echo $this->__('Quick Overview'?></h4>
                <
div class="short-description"><?php echo nl2br($_product->getShortDescription()) ?></div>

<?php endif;?>

But when I paste that piece of code in the file catalog/product/new.phtml (which is included on my front page with help from the code below) there is still no short description under the pictures. It seems like it can’t figure out which short description it has to show..

<reference name="content">
<
block type="catalog/product_new" name="home.catalog.product.new" alias="product_new" template="catalog/product/new.phtml" after="cms_page"/>
</
reference>

Does any one have an idea to fix my problem?

Hope my question is understandable… Thanks in forehand!

Regards,
Mads

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Discovery
Enthusiast

Total Posts:  767