Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 2
How to Upgrade from 1.4.2 to 1.6.0
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Because the upgrade process is similar to a Data restore/import I think the same temporary procedures can happen during the process.

Please see http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/innodb-tuning.html

Review sections on

If you have UNIQUE constraints on secondary keys, you can speed up table imports by temporarily turning off the uniqueness checks during the import session:

and here

If you have FOREIGN KEY constraints in your tables, you can speed up table imports by turning the foreign key checks off for the duration of the import session:

I think the important point is only for the duration of the upgrade.

NOT ALL THE TIME!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hammock_vienna
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

i agree… but unfortunatly turning of those checks won’t help for that issue:

app/code/core/Mage/Core/sql/core_setup/mysql4-upgrade-1.5.9.9-1.6.0.0.php” - SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1091 Can’t DROP ‘UNQ_PATH’; check that column/key exists”;

any clue?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

@hammock_vienna:: I am afraid you may have to restart you upgrade. I would drop your database and re-import your backup to it.

Then make sure you have all your resources set correctly and start it off again.

I have had upgrades that take 25 hours to complete.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hammock_vienna
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

@Brent: The restore is no problem. We tried it already several times, but we are always stopped at that point :-(

just checked the sql - it seems that he gries to drop a index which does not exist?

$installer->getConnection()->dropIndex(
$installer->getTable(’core/url_rewrite’),
‘UNQ_PATH’
);

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Sorry I am just double checking, but you do

drop database dbase;

then a

create database dbase;

each time correct?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hammock_vienna
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

yes of couse grin and afterwardy we import the dump

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

I know this is not a solution, but can you drop the index manually on your database before you start the upgrade and see what happens.

I will report it as a bug

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hammock_vienna
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

hm.... i guess i have to check several things. We try to upgrade from 1.4.1.1. to 1.4.2.0 and than to 1.6.0.

in 1.4.1.1. the index does not exist, but in the database which is partly created after the upgrade from 1.4.2.0 to 1.6 the index exists. So i’ll check if that index is created after the upgrade to 1.4.2.0. If yes, i’ll drop it manually.

i’ll report on that issue

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

You should still be able to do it, I have upgraded from 1.3 without a problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hammock_vienna
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

Hi i checked it

upgrade from 1.4.1.1 to 1.4.2. works fine. Then the UNQ_PATH index is created in the database. When you see that => remove it manually and start the upgrade to 1.6.

now the upgrade scripts runs by far longer, but at the end it is stopped here

app/code/core/Mage/Sales/sql/sales_setup/mysql4-upgrade-1.5.9.9-1.6.0.0.php” - SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 1025 Error on rename of ‘./test_magento/#sql-9df_3552e’ to ‘./test_magento/sales_flat_order_item’ (errno: 150)";i:1;s:1092:"#0

it looks like the same problem like here - and it is the same table like wibbel reports.
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/242215/P105/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 2