Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

same user in multiple customer groups

Yoakim

Total Posts:  126

Hi,

I know as is of 1.1.7 a user/customer can only be put into 1 customer group but I want t be able putting a customer into several groups and my question is if this is on the roadmap? and if not, is it a daunting task to program myself?

I am new to Magento so maybe someone with more knowledge and insight could provide a view?

I am not a PHP developer per se, more of a desktop programmer, although I have no problem reading and understanding and eve put together some php code.

Why would I like to have this? Well first of all it’s limiting with just one group per user, but also I see groups as something of a role system and a user/customer can have different roles in different situations. What I want to use it for is to restrict what a customer is able to access and/or what price a customer pay for different product. An example, with software sales:

A customer can by full retail of several software products, but then I will also be able to offer purchase of upgrades, where I thought of customer groups to a way to control this but it doesn’t work in current state of Magento as belonging to one “upgrade group” for one product, exclude being a member of another one. Or is there maybe another solution to this problem which I haven’t thought of?