Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Please advise on best procedure for Upgrade

Jacob.R

Total Posts:  32
London

Hi

I have never done an upgrade before and am concerned that all my work may be lost.

I have done basic customization stuff to the Magento Cart so far, as that’s all I am capable of. The site is still in an early design stage, so I thought better to upgrade now than latter?

In admin/manage products/add images the ‘Browse Files’ and ‘Upload Files’ buttons do not do anything when I click them, I read that the new upload will solve this problem.

www. capoeira canal .co.uk/magento

Thanks in advance

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

sherrie
Mentor

Total Posts:  1655
Waterloo, ON

You can upgrade by SSH or Magento Connect - but no matter which way you do MAKE A COMPLETE BACKUP FIRST. I cannot emphasize that enough. Create a working clone of your site - all files and database - and run the upgrade on it to make sure it functions correctly. If that works then go ahead and upgrade your existing site, but you’ll want to make sure you still have a full backup of it in case something goes wrong with the upgrade or there is an element of functionality you forgot to check with the upgrade.

Magento Community
Magento Community

lisali
Enthusiast

Total Posts:  889
London, UK

Hi Sherrie,