Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 6 of 6
Magento image placeholder showing instead of my product images
 
sonoalba
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-08-07
 

Try to use different browser instead of IE!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Biggs456
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2011-05-24
 

Was having the exact same issue after transferring to new host. Created a php.ini file that set memory limit to 64M,

memory_limit = 64M

That is all it took for me. Thanks to everyone in this thread. I tried most of the solutions but the memory limit is what solved it. Now all I need to do is go back and resize all of the images that were uploaded that were too darn big too begin with!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Miittkkoo
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-09-13
 

Hey guys,

SOLVED for me. I tried everything at this topic, but i dont know if this is because of my hoster…
I couldn\’t see any image in the back end and front end, now everything is fine:

DELETE the .htaccess in /media

It’s because of:

Options All -Indexes
<IfModule mod_php5.c>
php_flag engine 0
</IfModule>

AddHandler cgi-script .php .pl .py .jsp .asp .htm .shtml .sh .cgi
Options -ExecCGI

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
smtayyeb
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-04-04
 

i had similar problem, thumbnails were not appearing on shopping cart page. tried almost solution in this post but couldn’t solve this problem.

please note that we are using standard+customizable product feature on our website, but this should work for standard magento sites as well.

Problem: after digging into problem, found the issue that image names are not going to ‘catalog_product_flat_*’ tables, where * can be any number in my case it was 1,3,4,5, depends on sites.

Solution:

Go to Admin -> Catalog -> Attributes -> Manage Attributes

find small_image and thumbnail , modify them one by one, set their scope to GLOBAL and save.

THAT’S IT.... it solved my problem.

Hope it works for you as well.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Andrea_Magento
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2011-10-28
 

smtayyeb, thank you!
I was having this problem, too, and I have solved as your instructions!
My problem was that I have started to import my products automatically by running import profile thru php.
All went ok, but for images: the jpgs were ok in admin, but they weren\’t shown in the frontend.
Changing scope was ok!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
imnata
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-03-02
 

Go to Admin -> Catalog -> Attributes -> Manage Attributes
find small_image and thumbnail , modify them one by one, set their scope to GLOBAL and save.

It is solved my problem too.

Thank you!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
naomidegenkolbe
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2011-12-27
 
Tury - 23 June 2009 12:29 PM

After a lot of trial and error, from a previous post, I changed few characters and worked!

file is -> app/code/core/mage/catalog/model/product/image.php

around the line 274: there is an array

$path = array(
Mage::getSingleton(’catalog/product_media_config’)->getBaseMediaPath(),
‘cache’,
Mage::app()->getStore()->getId(),
$path[] = $this->getDestinationSubdir()
);

put below code instead of above

$path = array(
Mage::getSingleton(’catalog/product_media_config’)->getBaseMediaPath(),
‘’,
Mage::app()->getStore()->getId(),
$path[] = $this->getDestinationSubdir()
);



Worked for me. Good Luck!

This works for me as well! Thank you!!
The thumbnail images’ path kept showing /cache/ folder, but in my FTP server, there’s no images created in this /cache/ folder.
After I delete ‘cache’ from image.php, the path no longer point /cache/ folder.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TheLoveOfCode
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  21
Joined:  2009-08-15
 

All, I discovered this article (http://thedistance.co.uk/journal/2011-10/missing-magento-media-images) which perfectly solves my problem of placeholder images showing instead of product images. Hopefully for those of you who weren’t having cache or permissions issues, this will fix it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MM Media
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-02-14
United Kingdom
 

We have this problem but it’s only on NEW products.

If we add/change the image on a existing product it’s fine.

However if we add a new product the catalog view thumbnail shows, as do the product images. But the main image on the product shows in the “image coming soon” place holder.

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MM Media
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-02-14
United Kingdom
 

Found the problem and AheadWorks was to blame. The subscription plugin removed the base image from view on ALL products.

I used dev tools in Firefox to enable the hidden forms, changed product listing to yes and then enabled for simple and configurable products, the main image is now showing on product page.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MM Media
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-02-14
United Kingdom
 

I’d just like to also, removing the .htaccess file really isn’t a clever idea - you open yourself up to injection attack.

Configure the server correctly instead.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
milon092005
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-05-01
 

rename .htaccess in media folder to .htaccess_old.

this solved my problem.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
claredotcom
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2013-02-26
 

I have this problem after moving from a development server to the live server.

Initially - all images were there.

After clearing cache all images disappeared to be replaced by placeholders.

1) there are definitely images in the correct media folder
2) tried the renaming/deleting of .htaccess file - no difference
3) this is magento 1.7.0.2 there is not app\code\core\Mage\Catalog\Model\Product\image.php file to change
4) checked the attribute > images is set correctly to all products
5) in the backend the images are there if you roll over them - but not set as base/thumbnail etc. But if I click and set and save - I just get a ?
6) adding a new image gives the error “Destination folder is not writable or does not exists.” but media/catalog/product does exist - is full of images with folder/file permissions of 755/644
7) I’ve even tried ‘re-importing’ my images from a csv file - made no difference.

I’ve gone through this and numerous other threads trying everything over 2 days and nothing works.
I’m now getting serious hassle from my boss - transferring to a server with the same setup should not cause such a major problem.

Is anyone from the magento team able to help here?

thanks,
Clare.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davindersangha1
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2012-05-31
 

I solved the problem I had by changing MEDIA folder permissions to 755.

I originally moved my subfolder installation /hot-watches/ to the root. Images showed blank boxes (not the standard placeholders). I tried clearing caches, etc. but the 755 seemed to work.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 6 of 6