Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Duplicate price showing when product has custom option
 
valerie.wininger
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-08-01
 

I have noticed that on any products that I’ve added custom options for (always sizing options), the price is showing up twice--once directly under the Availability line, and once after the radio buttons for Small, Medium and Large.  It’s not readily apparent to me how to fix it.  Can anyone direct me?  Thanks everyone.

**Edit:  Nevermind, I figured it out.**

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
noinput
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-09-15
 

for anyone who needs to know find your skin layout files:

app/design/frontend/default/{yourskin}/layout/catalog.xml

scroll down to find:

<!--
Product view
-->

and look for the line:

<block type="catalog/product_view" name="product.clone_prices" as="prices" template="catalog/product/view/price_clone.phtml"/>

you can simply comment it out like so:

<!-- <block type="catalog/product_view" name="product.clone_prices" as="prices" template="catalog/product/view/price_clone.phtml"/> -->
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
oakRunk
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  117
Joined:  2008-09-15
 

Have you found a way to keep that price (in your example) but comment out the one higher on the product page? I like the price by the add to cart but there is no reason for two prices to be displayed.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mrkfgs
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2012-01-06
 

I’m having the same problem as Oak. Can someone please help? I’m using 1.6.1

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mrkfgs
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2012-01-06
 

OK, so I figured this out for when using downloadable products (which was my original issue)

Remove the following from type.phtml:

<?php echo $this->getPriceHtml($_product) ?>

Here’s the file path:
app>design>frontend>base>default>template>downloadable>catalog>product>type.phtml

This will remove the price that shows above, but not the one on the bottom.

Hope this helps!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
esterman
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2011-12-28
 

Hey guys,

to me it seems that the original tierprice html is important, as it is responsible for the price to update correctly when the “options container” (container 1 or 2) are shown on the page.

If you comment it out or disable it by any means, when you choos product options with additional price the price box won´t update the final price.

I used a solution that seems to be working very well for me:

Make the original price box invisible in view.phtml if options are available:

<?php if ($_product->isSaleable() && $this->hasOptions()):?>
            
<div class="no-display">
            
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('product_type_data'?>
            <?php 
echo $this->getTierPriceHtml() ?>
            
</div>
            
<?php echo $this->getChildChildHtml('container1'''truetrue?>
            <?php 
else:?>
            <?php 
echo $this->getChildHtml('product_type_data'?>
            <?php 
echo $this->getTierPriceHtml() ?>
                <?php 
if (!$this->hasOptions()):?>
                
<div class="add-to-box">
                    
<?php if($_product->isSaleable()): ?>
                        <?php 
echo $this->getChildHtml('addtocart'?>
                    <?php 
endif; ?>
                    
<br><br><br>
                    
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('addto'?>
                
</div>
            
<?php else:?>
                <?php 
echo $this->getChildHtml('addto'?>
            <?php 
endif; ?>
            <?php 
endif;?>

This way, I only show one price box (which clones the original price box) and the original price box won´t show up on screen.

Remember to always copy yout customized template/layout/other files to your custom theme folder so you won´t suffer when updating your mage version.

Hope this helps!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
LovePepper
Member
 
Total Posts:  40
Joined:  2012-07-03
 

I had the same problem and added this to my css file:

.product-options-bottom{display:none}

That worked for me. But it might cause some other problem down the line but I don’t think so. Just wanted to let others know in case they want to try it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top