Magento Forum

   
Page 1 of 2
Can Magento show “FREE” instead of the price? 
 
sursum
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2011-05-05
 

Can Magento show “FREE” instead of the price?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
webkul
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined:  2010-10-27
 

Where ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sursum
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2011-05-05
 

Sorry Webkul...I’d missed that you’d left a response.

Basically we’re considering selling a product where the base unit is free, and then you have a choice of three configuration choices that determine the price.

So, on the catalog page, it would show “FREE”, and then on the product page also show “FREE”, then the button would read “Configure and Add to Cart”. 

Ideally then, in the cart, you’d see the base unit listed as “FREE” and then whichever configuration you have chosen would show its price.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
niro
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1593
Joined:  2009-03-04
Latvia, Riga
 

My module will do it in next version. I am planning to release it in 2 days (it is in test phase yet)

http://www.magentocommerce.com/extension/specs/5823/et_currencymanager

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sursum
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2011-05-05
 

Great news, Niro!  I’ll keep an eye out for it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
G_Mehta
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  418
Joined:  2010-01-27
India
 

Edit :
/app/design/forntend/default/YOURTHEME/template/catalog/product/view.phtml file

within file look following script

<?php echo  $this->getPriceHtml($_producttrue?>

and change it with following

<?php if($_product->price==0): ?>
    <?php 
echo '<div class="price-box"><span class="regular-price"><span class="price">FREE</span></span></div>'?>
<?php 
else: ?>
    <?php 
echo $this->getPriceHtml($_producttrue?>
<?php 
endif; ?>

same on list.phtml page..

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
niro
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1593
Joined:  2009-03-04
Latvia, Riga
 
Gaurav Mehta - 29 June 2011 08:26 PM

Edit :
/app/design/forntend/default/YOURTHEME/template/catalog/product/view.phtml file

within file look following script

<?php echo  $this->getPriceHtml($_producttrue?>

and change it with following

<?php if($_product->price==0): ?>
    <?php 
echo '<div class="price-box"><span class="regular-price"><span class="price">FREE</span></span></div>'?>
<?php 
else: ?>
    <?php 
echo $this->getPriceHtml($_producttrue?>
<?php 
endif; ?>

same on list.phtml page..

This will not work for configurable and bundled products (where price is shown witj JavaScrypt), and in transactional mails too.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
G_Mehta
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  418
Joined:  2010-01-27
India
 

You right follow, for that we have options to use prototype JS or jQuery..

jQuery(document).ready(function() {
        jQuery
("span").each(function(ie{
            
if ( (jQuery(e).attr('class') == "price") && (jQuery(e).text() == "$0.00") ) {
                jQuery
(e).text("FREE");
            
}
        }
)
})

make separate JS file for it and include that file.....
only problem in store wise price.. here i define “$” in hard code.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
niro
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1593
Joined:  2009-03-04
Latvia, Riga
 

Have updated module to version 0.2.0 (not updated description yet).

http://www.magentocommerce.com/magento-connect/niro/extension/5823/et_currencymanager

Changes
ver. 0.2.0
+ restyled configuration
+ added abilty to set currency specific options (all, not only symbol replace/ Actual for multi currency stores without store views).
+ added ability to disable precision change for checkout process (exclude chekout)
+ added ability to replace zero prices with any string. Example: instead 0.00 display FREE
* changed Cut Zero Decimal algoritm (now it’s work fine with any currency precision, not only precision=2)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bwoolbright
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2010-05-18
 

@Gaurav

I tried the editing the list.phtml and view.phtml files with the conditional statement you provided, but it doesn’t do anything. BUT, whenever I put that code into the price.phtml file it does change, except it shows the “FREE” and $0. Am I doing something wrong?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rfrans13
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2011-03-04
 

I am having the same problem. I updated list.phtml and the products are showing as “FREE $0.00"… how do I get rid of the $0.00?

thanks!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
niro
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1593
Joined:  2009-03-04
Latvia, Riga
 
rfrans13 - 15 July 2011 09:42 AM

I am having the same problem. I updated list.phtml and the products are showing as “FREE $0.00"… how do I get rid of the $0.00?

thanks!!

With free module Currency Manager you do not need to change any code to get this replace.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rfrans13
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2011-03-04
 

Thank you, but we’re using Enterprise edition so Currency Manager is not an option. Does anyone have a solution to show “Free” in place of $0.00 ?

thanks smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
niro
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1593
Joined:  2009-03-04
Latvia, Riga
 
rfrans13 - 20 July 2011 06:28 AM

Thank you, but we’re using Enterprise edition so Currency Manager is not an option. Does anyone have a solution to show “Free” in place of $0.00 ?

thanks smile

I can change my module for enterprise edition version, but i have no EE Magento to test it. If you will not find any solution you can write me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
SaveTheMage
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2013-05-02
Montreal
 

I just made an extension for this because we couldn’t find anything good.

So we made two versions. One that simply changes 0.00 to say FREE using the prices style. No theme adjustments, its that simple. The extension is free and you can check it out here:
http://www.savethemage.com/magento-extensions/free-extensions/show-price-as-free.html

The other one does the same except you can change the text to anything, and even include custom html. You can also set the number to determine when the custom text will show. So you can say all items below 1$ will say “Click here for more info” or anything you want. You can see this extension here:
http://www.savethemage.com/magento-extensions/premium-extensions/show-price-as-free-or-custom-premium-magento-extension.html

Its 75$ but if you honestly think its too expensive for what we offer, just jump on our live chat and we will work something out.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
postmans
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2013-08-20
 

in this case, i usually use 0.00$ :D

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top
Page 1 of 2