Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Volusion vs. Magento ??? 

SoundsGood

Total Posts:  10

Hi,

First post here.  smile

I’m ready to have my very first e-commerce site developed.  I’ve had lots of plain ol’ static websites before, but I’ve never had an e-commerce store before.  I’m not a developer, so I would need to hire one.

Anyway, I’m having a rough time deciding between Volusion and Magento.  Both are supposed to be very good, and I’m torn as to which way to go.

For those that have actually used both, could you please share your thoughts on which you prefer and why?  Not as a developer, but as a site operator.  Which is better for SEO?  Which results in more completed orders, less abandonment, etc…

Any thoughts, comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

TomC

Total Posts:  191

Okay, I haven’t used Volusion personally, though I researched it a lot. 

Now, the biggest advantage Magento has over Volusion ... PRICE. 
Magento is FREE whereas you have to pay service fees to Volusion.

Also, I have looked through the cart features of Vlusion in comparison to Magento - and I find that Magento has pretty much everything that Volusion offers ... in some cases, much cleaner.  Further, Magento’s upcoming upgrade release will (hopefully) feature several very nice tools and features - including the ability to sell downloadable products.