Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

New to Magento - Need Suggestions

ndshetty

Total Posts:  2

Hi All,

I am new to Magento or even new to website building. I am from IT field manage the Web development team. I want to build an online store using magento. Went through other carting software and magento seems to be best fit for our requirement.

As i am very new i thought i would buy a Magento template and using that customise the template according to our use. I already have web hosting account and they have cPanel and support magento as carting. Really not sure whether that is a right direction.

Need suggestion on how i should proceed.  If it is impossible for me to do it then also looking for a quote on simple magento website.

Cheers,

Nikitha

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

NeilA

Total Posts:  1372
Blue Mountains, Oz

Hi Nikitha,
Welcome to the brilliant/frustrating world of Magento!  wink

Just one observation/comment: While your current host may ‘support’ Magento (ie: that usually means they provide the the required php modules, etc), it is quite likely that they do not provide an optimised environment to run a store.
Magento is demanding on server resources, and rarely runs well without some server optimising. This especially true if you have a shared hosting account. Search these forums for many threads on this.

So before you put lots of effort in to do all the other stuff, make sure your hosting can handle it.

Regards

Magento Community
Magento Community

ndshetty

Total Posts:  2

Hi Neil,