Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

AMartinez_CustomImportExport 1.5 extension: import/export/and more…! 
 
Paulus
Guru
 
Total Posts:  335
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

Still need help with categories and exports:

From your csv1 sample:
\"sku\", \"_store\", \"_type\", \"_product_websites\", \"_attribute_set\", \"news_from_date\", \"tipo_articulo\", \"_category\", \"status\", \"visibility\", \"weight\", \"is_in_stock\", \"qty\", \"size\", \"price\", \"delivery_date\", \"tax_class_id\", \"name\", \"short_description\", \"description\", \"_associated_sku\", \"image\", \"small_image\", \"thumbnail\"
\"TEST1-S1\”,,\"grouped\”,\"base\”,\"Default\”,\"2011-4-8\”,\"Shoes\",\"TEST COLLECTION/SUBTEST,MALICIA\”,\"1\”,\"4\”,\"1.10\”,\"1\”,\"13986\”,\"\”,\"43.90\”,\"1899-12-31\”,\"2\",\"TEST 1 ANTIK NEGRO, PISO TEST test\",\"TEST COLLECTION\",\"TEST COLLECTION\”,\"TEST1-S1-35,TEST1-S1-36,TEST1-S1-37\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\"

How to EXPORT in this format? We do have multistores, is it not possible then?

Also, we have categories setup like this:

_root
----_store1
-------- -Clothing
-------- - Shirts
----_store2
-------- -Clothing
-------- - Shirts

Does your script know where to put it? In our (multi lined) export i only see category names from \"Clothing/Shirts\", not _store1/clothing/shirts.

PLease advise.

Paul.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Stefy
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2009-03-30
 

Hi all,
i tried it on ubuntu machine in VMware.. it need 18min. to import about 35000 simple product.

Now i’m trying on real machine with the same configuration i used in vmware but it need more than 50min..
Are 2 days i’m trying to configure .. but it’s always very slow respect vmware…
This morning i bought a SSD disk, but no change…

what is the problem?? i think it’s mysql slow.

the longest time is to reindex Catalog url rewrite…

i don’t know.. i’m going crazyyyyyy

thanks in advance for your reply

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Paulus
Guru
 
Total Posts:  335
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

Hi,

I\\\’m still a little puzzled about certain things, although the script works awesome thusfar (updating existing fields, deleting records).

I tried appending new items,this was the result:

$ /usr/local/bin/php -f amartinez_customimportexport.php -- -i adding-test.csv
Start products \\\
'replace\\\' action from adding-test.csv
:::: New category createdGezondheid/Diverse Gezondheidsproducten/Waren (first ocurrence in line 1) ::::
:::: New 
attribute option addedmanufacturer Holland (first ocurrence in line 1) ::::
:::: New 
category createdZelfzorg/Homeopathie Fytotherapie/Fytotherapie (first ocurrence in line 2) ::::

Done (processed rows count2)

However, these categories are nowhere to be found. This might be in line with my previously asked questions in this thread (as well as sent by email).

Our root categories are always the storeurl name, should we include that is the categorie, so it would create
storeUrl/Gezondheid/Diverse Gezondheidsproducten/Waren
instead of just
Gezondheid/Diverse Gezondheidsproducten/Waren

The standard export did not include that, but it was a multilined multistore export that is different from our single line import.

Unfortunately i have been trying to get a hold of anybody who might know for over a week or so. If i cannot get an answer to the basic issue, I might be trying stuff that doesn\\\’t work in the first place.

So, please give a hint;-)

Adding the item to the database in the right format/price/store/etc. is going well.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Stefy
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2009-03-30
 

Hi,
it’s work fine thanks,,

But i’d need, after import, don’t reindex data…
It’s possible??
thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Paulus
Guru
 
Total Posts:  335
Joined:  2008-07-21
 
Stefy - 23 August 2011 09:02 AM

Hi,
it’s work fine thanks,,

But i’d need, after import, don’t reindex data…
It’s possible??
thanks

That’s easy

$/usr/local/bin/php -f amartinez_customimportexport.php -- -i adding.csv
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Stefy
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2009-03-30
 

Thanls alot.. wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Bing Dicklepuss
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  91
Joined:  2010-07-26
 
Paulus - 21 August 2011 10:34 PM

Still need help with categories and exports:

From your csv1 sample:
\"sku\", \"_store\", \"_type\", \"_product_websites\", \"_attribute_set\", \"news_from_date\", \"tipo_articulo\", \"_category\", \"status\", \"visibility\", \"weight\", \"is_in_stock\", \"qty\", \"size\", \"price\", \"delivery_date\", \"tax_class_id\", \"name\", \"short_description\", \"description\", \"_associated_sku\", \"image\", \"small_image\", \"thumbnail\"
\"TEST1-S1\”,,\"grouped\”,\"base\”,\"Default\”,\"2011-4-8\”,\"Shoes\",\"TEST COLLECTION/SUBTEST,MALICIA\”,\"1\”,\"4\”,\"1.10\”,\"1\”,\"13986\”,\"\”,\"43.90\”,\"1899-12-31\”,\"2\",\"TEST 1 ANTIK NEGRO, PISO TEST test\",\"TEST COLLECTION\",\"TEST COLLECTION\”,\"TEST1-S1-35,TEST1-S1-36,TEST1-S1-37\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\"


How to EXPORT in this format? We do have multistores, is it not possible then?



Also, we have categories setup like this:


_root
----_store1
-------- -Clothing
-------- - Shirts
----_store2
-------- -Clothing
-------- - Shirts

Does your script know where to put it? In our (multi lined) export i only see category names from \"Clothing/Shirts\", not _store1/clothing/shirts.

PLease advise.

Paul.

I don’t think this script can do that at this point.  This script is the best for import, but not for export.
I would recommend Bolasevich’s script for that.  You get every item in single-line format, including multiselect attributes, categories, etc.  It is not free but it is worth it.  For export, it is pretty fast (30,000 items might take 10-20 minutes), although for import it is very slow because it runs on the old Dataflow magento model.  (I can import 30,000 items with AMartinez script in probably 5 - 10 minutes but with dataflow it would probably take about 17 hours, no exaggeration)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Paulus
Guru
 
Total Posts:  335
Joined:  2008-07-21
 
Bing Dicklepuss - 23 August 2011 10:47 AM

Paulus - 21 August 2011 10:34 PM
Still need help with categories and exports:

From your csv1 sample:
\"sku\", \"_store\", \"_type\", \"_product_websites\", \"_attribute_set\", \"news_from_date\", \"tipo_articulo\", \"_category\", \"status\", \"visibility\", \"weight\", \"is_in_stock\", \"qty\", \"size\", \"price\", \"delivery_date\", \"tax_class_id\", \"name\", \"short_description\", \"description\", \"_associated_sku\", \"image\", \"small_image\", \"thumbnail\"
\"TEST1-S1\”,,\"grouped\”,\"base\”,\"Default\”,\"2011-4-8\”,\"Shoes\",\"TEST COLLECTION/SUBTEST,MALICIA\”,\"1\”,\"4\”,\"1.10\”,\"1\”,\"13986\”,\"\”,\"43.90\”,\"1899-12-31\”,\"2\",\"TEST 1 ANTIK NEGRO, PISO TEST test\",\"TEST COLLECTION\",\"TEST COLLECTION\”,\"TEST1-S1-35,TEST1-S1-36,TEST1-S1-37\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\”,\"/img_articulos/TEST1-S1.jpg\"


How to EXPORT in this format? We do have multistores, is it not possible then?



Also, we have categories setup like this:

_root
----_store1
-------- -Clothing
-------- - Shirts
----_store2
-------- -Clothing
-------- - Shirts

Does your script know where to put it? In our (multi lined) export i only see category names from \"Clothing/Shirts\", not _store1/clothing/shirts.

PLease advise.

Paul.

I don’t think this script can do that at this point.  This script is the best for import, but not for export.
I would recommend Bolasevich’s script for that.  You get every item in single-line format, including multiselect attributes, categories, etc.  It is not free but it is worth it.  For export, it is pretty fast (30,000 items might take 10-20 minutes), although for import it is very slow because it runs on the old Dataflow magento model.  (I can import 30,000 items with AMartinez script in probably 5 - 10 minutes but with dataflow it would probably take about 17 hours, no exaggeration)

Thanks for the info.
I had a look at Bolasevich’s script and i turned to this script since this runs in shell and i suspected the other one did not, which seems to be the case.

The export problem was easily fixed though, what we did was this:
- export everything
- sort on artnr, this will leave all empty artid’s at the bottom
- delete the bottom lines, now you have a list of products you can update: MAKE SURE TO NOT UPDATE FIELDS THAT HAVE MULTIVALUES. ONLY UPDATE STOCK OR DELETE ID’S.

The problem now is the adding of categories and putting them in the right place. As well as the image problem (not in back-end, but so in front end).

Updating 5500 products went really fast, under 30 seconds, i really hope wecan make this work for our 55000 other items. I’ve been waiting for a good maintainance script to add all those for almost a year. Default dataflow just couldn’t do it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Bing Dicklepuss
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  91
Joined:  2010-07-26
 
Paulus - 23 August 2011 11:03 AM


The export problem was easily fixed though, what we did was this:
- export everything
- sort on artnr, this will leave all empty artid’s at the bottom
- delete the bottom lines, now you have a list of products you can update: MAKE SURE TO NOT UPDATE FIELDS THAT HAVE MULTIVALUES. ONLY UPDATE STOCK OR DELETE ID’S.


The problem now is the adding of categories and putting them in the right place. As well as the image problem (not in back-end, but so in front end).

Updating 5500 products went really fast, under 30 seconds, i really hope wecan make this work for our 55000 other items. I’ve been waiting for a good maintainance script to add all those for almost a year. Default dataflow just couldn’t do it.

This script does handle multi-value and multiselect attributes.  Read up on the .csv1 format if you haven’t already.  If you already have some values and just want to add one, then of course you have to run the import with the previous values plus your new value.  If you run it with just the new value, the old values will be replaced by just one new value.

i.e. suppose you have a product that is a Small T-Shirt and it is in two categories:  Clothing/T-Shirts/Small and Clothing/Kids/T-Shirts
If you do the export with bolasevich’s script you will end up with something like this:
sku,categories,…
T1234, “Clothing/T-Shirts/Small , Clothing/Kids/T-Shirts”,…

If you want to add it to category “Discount Items/Kids” then you just take the exported csv and add that category to it, fix the column heading, and just import the necessary columns with AMartinez’ script:
sku,_category
T1234, “Clothing/T-Shirts/Small,Clothing/Kids/T-Shirts,Discount Items/Kids”

In that way you have added the item to a new category.  You can do the same method with multiselect attributes.  Unless AMartinez makes his export file match his import file, this is the way I will continue doing it.  Or I might go into the code and change it myself, but for now this works fine anyway.

The only problem is that AMartinez does the multi-line export, as you mentioned, and Bolasevich puts everything on one line, which matches AMartinez’ import format (csv1).

Images:
I spent a lot of time figuring out how to import images with AMartinez’ script.  You might want to look at my recent posts on that subject (just a week or 3 ago) if you haven’t already.  I explained how I imported media gallery images.  Also, I’m not sure about this but you may need to include the “store” and/or “websites” columns when you import images.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Paulus
Guru
 
Total Posts:  335
Joined:  2008-07-21
 

Bing, I did all that, read all that as well.

My csv(1) is exactly as it should be. Tried various ways too.

It is adding products just fine, however, not adding categories and images, well, that looks like a mistery (i already read you post numerous times too).

Thnig is I only have 1 image per item at this point, no need for the image_gallery variable, is there?

You mind if i PM you my 1 lined csv that I tested and does not work 100% (no category added)?

Another note:
- the export of this script outputted categories for one of our multistores like this:
clothing/shirts

But,in our backend the complete path:
_rootcategory1 (storeUrlName1) /clothing/shirts

I do not think this script could magically know in what category it should put these values, when we have two stores with the same categoryname. Like this:

_rootcategory2 (storeUrlName2) /clothing/shirts

Now we have two stores with the same items:
storeUrlName1/clothing/shirts
storeUrlName2/clothing/shirts

This script exports the products to /clothing/shirts only. Maybe we should include storeUrlName1 in the path as well.

Note that these comments do not solve the creating of categories itself, this should be done regardless. However, none are made.

Is AMartinez on a holiday? He does not seem to be as active as he used to be;-)

ps. In the meantime i have tried anexact copy of your file in this post,but with just 1 image.
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewreply/341110/

No luck, tried both with csv as csv1 extension.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cconway
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2011-08-24
 

Can someone explain to me how to setup the headers for a customer import?  I don’t understand how to import both the billing and shipping addresses?  In the sample I only see fields that start with _address_street, etc..

Thanks,
Chris

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Bing Dicklepuss
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  91
Joined:  2010-07-26
 

@Paulus
Yeah you can PM me.  I might not be able to look at it until tomorrow.

@cconway
Try first doing an export to see what the headers should look like.  If you have a new installation, try entering some data manually through the admin or front-end.  Then you can export and see what the headers for import should look like.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JoshM
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2011-05-09
 

Hi all,

I want to export all my products on one Magento 1.5-based store and import them into another store with all configurable and simple product associations intact.  Would this be possible if I were to export the products from the first store using Magento’s regular export, modify the CSV file to fit AMartinez’s extension’s CSV format, and then import them into the second store using AMartinez’s extension?

Thank you for all the help!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Paulus
Guru
 
Total Posts:  335
Joined:  2008-07-21
 
JoshM - 24 August 2011 11:59 AM

Hi all,

I want to export all my products on one Magento 1.5-based store and import them into another store with all configurable and simple product associations intact.  Would this be possible if I were to export the products from the first store using Magento’s regular export, modify the CSV file to fit AMartinez’s extension’s CSV format, and then import them into the second store using AMartinez’s extension?

Thank you for all the help!

Why would you do that? Just use the export on siteA, import back to siteB. No?

You can mass-replace the store names if that was gonna be an issue.

@Bing, sending PM.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JoshM
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2011-05-09
 
Paulus - 24 August 2011 12:03 PM

Why would you do that? Just use the export on siteA, import back to siteB. No?

You can mass-replace the store names if that was gonna be an issue.


@Bing, sending PM.

Thanks for the quick reply.  But whenever I’ve tried that before the configurable products lose their simple product associations.  I then have to manually go into each configurable product in the admin and assign its appropriate simple products.

Is there another way?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top