Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

getProductUrl, getUrl, url rewrites and urls containing category url keys and duplicate product url keys

DeeperID

Total Posts:  3

Hello,

I’ve read through several forum posts here and on other sites and even a few wikis concerning url rewrites and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs that contain full category paths to product pages.  I have a feeling that I’m probably not using the correct search terms but at this point I’ve spent over a day trying to determine the best way to solve this issue so please be kind smile.  I’m also fairly new to Magento (but enjoying it for the most part so far). 

The original issue started off where getUrl/getProductUrl wasn’t returning the results for products - I wanted /category1/category2/categoryN/product-url-key.html.  What I would usually get was /product-url-key.html instead.  A simple search or two including “category specific product urls magento” or some variation of that returned several solutions that resembled:

Starting with the Mage_Catalog_Block_Product_View and Mage_Catalog_Model_Product objects
Then grabbing the array from getCategoryIds from Mage_Catalog_Model_Product
Getting the ID of the last (most specific) category in the array, loading it, then getting it’s path with getUrlPath
At that point appending Mage_Catalog_Model_Product‘s basename getUrlPath to the category’s url path to get /category1/category2/categoryN/product-url-key.html