Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

SOLVED: Cannot Disable the Cache in Magento 1.1.6! 
 
eluminous
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-11-05
Victoria, Australia
 

Hello

I have an issue where I cannot disable the cache in 1.1.6 at all. Every time I select the dropdown option “disable” then select every option then click “Save cache Settings”, it defaults back to “No Change”.

I cant customise the site without it working!  Sys Admins??

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Crucial
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  770
Joined:  2007-11-07
Phoenix, AZ
 

You should only just have to select Disable from the dropdown, no need to check anything off. You can also try deleting the following file:

app/etc/use_cache.ser

And then your cache directory (the entire thing):

var/cache
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
eluminous
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-11-05
Victoria, Australia
 

Thanks Crucial,

Is the Cache Management dropdown supposed to display the “Disabled” option in the dropdown with a notice verifying that the cache has actually been disabled after clicking “Save Cache Settings”? If not, What is the indication that it has been disabled?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Crucial
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  770
Joined:  2007-11-07
Phoenix, AZ
 

It won’t give you any message that caching has been disabled. After selecting “Disabled” and saving the changes, all the checkboxes should be empty and the dropdown should say “No Change.”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
eluminous
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-11-05
Victoria, Australia
 

Aren’t all the checkboxes supposed to auto select though when I choose Disable from the dropdown? Mine dont…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Crucial
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  770
Joined:  2007-11-07
Phoenix, AZ
 
eluminous - 05 November 2008 07:08 PM

Aren’t all the checkboxes supposed to auto select though when I choose Disable from the dropdown? Mine dont…

Nope. They’re only checked if caching is on for that item. You just need to select Disable and then save.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
eluminous
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-11-05
Victoria, Australia
 

Ok, cool. Thanks for your help. Appreciated

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top