Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Custom Menu Magento Extension
 
WebAndPeople
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  150
Joined:  2010-01-05
 

Custom Menu Magento Extension

Please see our new Magento theme:
http://web-experiment.info/webandpeople-custom-menu-extension.html

Opinions/ suggestions are all welcome! Thanks!

Image Attachments
magento_custom_menu.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
weworld
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-03-26
 

How do i get a new menu item like sale or contact in the nav bar???

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sliilvia
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  82
Joined:  2010-01-25
 

I can get the standard menu to work with this, but I can’t seem to get the static block category image and category to appear.  Is there any chance of providing documentation for this?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ccrudo87
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2011-01-30
 
sliilvia - 20 March 2011 01:53 AM

I can get the standard menu to work with this, but I can’t seem to get the static block category image and category to appear.  Is there any chance of providing documentation for this?

I have the same issue, have you figured it out yet by any chance?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TomC
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  191
Joined:  2007-12-01
 

Can a static block image be created in a column, or is it restricted to the bottom (as in the examples) ??

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WebAndPeople
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  150
Joined:  2010-01-05
 
TomC - 23 March 2011 09:28 AM

Can a static block image be created in a column, or is it restricted to the bottom (as in the examples) ??

It is now placed at the bottom.

May be we would add the functionality later.

We invite everyone to discuss this extension. What to add? Which features are required?

place your comments here

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tr3online
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-03-01
 

Hey guys, relatively new to magento, trying my hand at theming.
I thought this menu extension would be a good alternative to making my own menus, but I cannot figure out how to make them work, even on a fresh install of mag 1.5.1.0.
All I did was copy all the files to the correct directories and enable the extension. Is there something I am missing to make these work?
Please let me know.

Here is a screenshot:

http://i.imgur.com/l4lJs.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help!
Tre

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
karminek
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2010-04-01
 

great menu, BUT, active link have css class only with submenu. if there is no submenu - there is no \\\"act\\\" class… why ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brandammo
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2009-06-04
Surrey, UK
 

Hi Guys, you can always try our extension for Magento that gives you the freedom to create any type of exploded navigation you like…

store.brandammo.co.uk/magento/pronav.html

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brandammo
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2009-06-04
Surrey, UK
 

Hi Guys, you can always try our extension for Magento that gives you the freedom to create any type of exploded navigation you like…

http://store.brandammo.co.uk/magento/pronav.html

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
squizeers
Member
 
Total Posts:  38
Joined:  2010-06-27
 

i amtrying to achieve menu like in this site: foodsinseason.com
Is that possible?
I am trying to merge RAPTOR EXPLODED MENU to get the result but haven,t succeeded.

Codes from RAPTOR EXPLODED MENU

public function drawNestedMenus($children$level=1{
        $html 
'<ul>';
        foreach (
$children as $child{
            
if ($child->getIsActive()) {
                $html 
.= '<li class="level' $level '">';
                
$categoriesPerColumn explode(","$this->getConfigData('explodedmenu''columns''categories_image_name'));
                if(
in_array(Mage::getModel('catalog/category')->load($child->getParentId())->getName(), $categoriesPerColumn)) {
                $_category
=Mage::getModel('catalog/category')->load($child->getId());
                
$_imgUrl $_category->getResizedImage(70,70);
                
                
$html .= 
                
                
'<li><a href="'.$this->getCategoryUrl($child).'"><img src="'.$_imgUrl.'" alt="'.$this->htmlEscape($_category->getName()).'" title="'.$this->htmlEscape($_category->getName()).'" /></a>'.
                
                
'<a href="'.$this->getCategoryUrl($child).'">
                '
.$this->htmlEscape($_category->getName()).'
                </a></li>'
;
                
                
}else  {
                
                $html 
.= 
                
'<a href="'.$this->getCategoryUrl($child).'">
                <span>'
.$this->htmlEscape($child->getName()).'</span>
                </a>'
;
                
}
                $activeChildren 
$this->getActiveChildren($child);
                if (
sizeof($activeChildren) > 0{
                    $html 
.= $this->drawNestedMenus($activeChildren$level+1);
                
}
                $html 
.= '</li>';
            
}
        }
        $html 
.= '</ul>';
        return 
$html;
    
}

AND

class Raptor_Explodedmenu_Model_Category extends Mage_Catalog_Model_Category
{
   
    
public function getResizedImage($width$height null$quality 100{

        
if (! $this->getImage ())
            return 
false;
        
        
$imageUrl Mage::getBaseDir 'media' ) . DS "catalog" DS "category" DS $this->getImage ();
        if (! 
is_file ( $imageUrl ))
            return 
false;
        
        
$imageResized Mage::getBaseDir 'media' ) . DS "catalog" DS "product" DS "cache" DS "cat_resized" DS $this->getImage ();// Because clean Image cache function works in this folder only
        
if (! file_exists $imageResized ) && file_exists $imageUrl ) || file_exists($imageUrl) && filemtime($imageUrl) > filemtime($imageResized)) :
            
$imageObj = new Varien_Image $imageUrl );
            
$imageObj->constrainOnly true );
            
$imageObj->keepAspectRatio true );
            
$imageObj->keepFrame false );
            
$imageObj->quality $quality );
            
$imageObj->resize $width$height );
            
$imageObj->save $imageResized );
        endif;
        
        if(
file_exists($imageResized)){
            
return Mage::getBaseUrl 'media' ) ."/catalog/product/cache/cat_resized/" $this->getImage ();
        
}else{
            
return $this->getImageUrl();
        
}
    
    } 
    
}
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mirasvit
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  639
Joined:  2009-08-22
 

Hello,

Check this extension http://mirasvit.com/magento-extensions/magento-advanced-menu-manager-pro.html. Is the best choice. It has the more options and very flexible.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Emmet1
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2012-12-17
 

This’s alo a good extension you can try Mega Menu

Magento Mega Menu extension allows customers to view contents & images of products or categories just by hovering around the top menu.

Easy to manage your store menu.
Allow administrator changing position of menu item by using a visual slider control.
Able to choose menu template.
Support many menu types such as: categories, products, brands, news, sales…

Live Demo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Emmet1
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2012-12-17
 

This\’s alo a good extension you can try Mega Menu

Magento Mega Menu extension allows customers to view contents & images of products or categories just by hovering around the top menu.

Easy to manage your store menu.
Allow administrator changing position of menu item by using a visual slider control.
Able to choose menu template.
Support many menu types such as: categories, products, brands, news, sales…

Live Demo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top