Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Using magento as a base development framework for an advanced community website

morraine

Total Posts:  3

Hi i am a php developer and i have a great idea for a new social network / community ecommerce website. Now in order for this to get off to a good start and quickly i would like to use magento as the base to develop my new code on top of.  i may write the entire website from scratch in the future with my own large team of developers but to get this thing started i need a solid ecommerce framework to work on.

Can you please tell me if your license would allow me to do this?

the administration of the site will always only be used by me and my team i just want to write code for the site to give it new features that will allow for social networking and other things that are unique combined with the base ecommerce functionality of magento.

If i write new modules and change existing code in magento will i have to make a copy of my new site available for anyone to download who uses the site?

is this the same for the community edition and the enterprise edition?

If i do have to release the new code, how can i build my new site with magento as the core and not have to - for instance if i left the magento core as it is and just interfaced with the api instead of changing code in the core - what about new separate modules are these seen as derivative or outside work?

I look forward to your reply on this thank you very much
Michael

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Turnkeye
Enthusiast

Total Posts:  908
URL: turnkeye.com