Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

No more Custom Layout Update
 
notm
Member
 
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2009-05-13
 

After I switched from Magento 1.4.1.1 to Magento 1.5, I can’t get layout update since every time i try to save the form with the custom XML, I get en error: Please enter valid XML data.
I’ll rollback to previous version.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

It sounds like you are missing some files, how did you upgrade?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
notm
Member
 
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2009-05-13
 

I took a fresh Magento 1.5.1 installation and copied the file from my app folder to the new installation.
Then I move the db to the new installation.
And that’s all, I did, i think.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

You could try copying in your layout files from your BASE directory on your old site.

**REMEMBER: Don’t over write any files, just add ones that are missing.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
notm
Member
 
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2009-05-13
 

I get the same error on a fresh Magento 1.5 install.
I found someone else reporting the same problem.

http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue?issue=10981

It’s not something related to the upgrade.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Does the error happen in the default theme

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
notm
Member
 
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2009-05-13
 

It happens even with a fresh magento install, with all the default settings.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
madpuppy
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2011-03-02
 

same problem here after updating to 1.5

edit: ok, have to change my custom layout code.... it appears that

<reference name="content">
  <
action method="unsetChild"><name>category.products</name></action>
  <
action method="unsetChild"><name>product_list</name></action>
  <
action method="unsetChild"><name>product_list_toolbar</name></action>
</
reference>

is no longer needed, while

<reference name="content">
            <
block type="catalog/category_view" name="category.products" template="catalog/category/view.phtml">
                <
block type="catalog/product_list" name="product_list" template="catalog/product/list.phtml">
                    <
block type="catalog/product_list_toolbar" name="product_list_toolbar" template="catalog/product/list/toolbar.phtml">
                

                    </
block>
                    <
action method="setToolbarBlockName"><name>product_list_toolbar</name></action>
                </
block>
            </
block>
        </
reference>

gives my a Fatal error: Call to a member function checkValue() on a non-object, once i click on the product. products without the layout update wok fine though.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Just an FYI: If you upgrade from 1.3 or earlier you structure is different. You will experience some problems on your theme. The default theme should work fine.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
notm
Member
 
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2009-05-13
 

I still have this issue and there is no answer from the bug tracking report.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Kara Heinrichs
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  482
Joined:  2008-01-17
aa, mi, us
 

I believe this is a bug in the v1.5.0 that only shows up if you have multiple structural blocks you’re referencing in the Custom Layout Update field.

As a workaround, if you wrap your layout updates in another reference tag (like “root") they seem to work.

So use:

<reference name="root">
     <
reference name="left">
          ...
your xml updates here
     
</reference>
     <
reference name="right">
           ...
your xml updates here
     
</reference>
</
reference>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top