Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How to confirm version
 
TimBu
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2011-01-09
 

I followed the instructions here:
http://www.crucialwebhost.com/kb/article/upgrading-magento-via-ssh/

All seemed to go well. But the version displayed on the front and back ends of my Magento installation have not changed. How can I make sure my upgrade to 1.5.0.1 was successful?

Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MagePsycho
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1702
Joined:  2009-06-23
 

Simplest way is to check the footer in admin.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
krlkv
Member
 
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2008-11-09
 

Most probably the upgrade didn’t complete.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Crucial
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  770
Joined:  2007-11-07
Phoenix, AZ
 

Try forcing the install if the version is still the same, e.g.:

./pear install -f magento-core/Mage_All_Latest

...or:

./mage install -f http://connect20.magentocommerce.com/community Mage_All_Latest
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

This works as well

Mage::getVersion()
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
SimpleHelixcom
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  906
Joined:  2007-08-31
Huntsville, AL
 

Hiya!

We usually check app/Mage.php in a text editor about 1/4 of the way down:

public static function getVersionInfo()
{
return array(
‘major’ => ‘1’,
‘minor’ => ‘5’,
‘revision’ => ‘0’,
‘patch’ => ‘1’,
‘stability’ => ‘’,
‘number’ => ‘’,
);
}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TimBu
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2011-01-09
 

My app/Mage.php contains this:

‘major’ => ‘1’,
‘minor’ => ‘4’,
‘revision’ => ‘2’,
‘patch’ => ‘0’,
‘stability’ => ‘’,
‘number’ => ‘’,

Obviously my upgrade was not a happy one.

./mage install -f http://connect20.magentocommerce.com/community Mage_All_Latest
Error:
install: Argument should be: channelName packageName

./pear install -f magento-core/Mage_All_Latest
warning: pear/Console_Getopt requires PEAR Installer (version >= 1.9.1), installed version is 1.7.1

Also, this attempt downloads 18 tgz files before it chokes:

PHP Fatal error:  Allowed memory size of 20971520 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 77 bytes) in /var/www/mywebsite/htdocs/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2.php on line 733

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 20971520 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 77 bytes) in /var/www/mywebsite/htdocs/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2.php on line 733

Thanks for all the replies!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Try doing your upgrade via FTP

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TimBu
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2011-01-09
 
Brent W Peterson - 21 February 2011 11:54 AM

Try doing your upgrade via FTP

I didn’t know how to do that. So what I did was download the full 1.5.0.1 tar.gz fle from Magento and extracted that into my site using SSH. That seems to have done the trick.

Thanks, everyone!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ross
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  336
Joined:  2007-08-31
Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK
 
Crucial - 19 February 2011 08:18 AM

./mage install -f http://connect20.magentocommerce.com/community Mage_All_Latest

Just thought I would mention that the mage script doesn’t like the -f flag. I suspect that Connect 2.0 still has a few bugs.

Also, the full channelName URL is not required, can just type it like this:

./mage install community Mage_All_Latest

Although, I don’t know why it is under ‘community’, shouldn’t it be under the ‘core’ channel??

./mage install core Mage_All_Latest
(doesn’t seem to work by the way)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top