Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Categories have gone from admin section… but are all still live on frontend …
 
ukdazza
Guru
 
Total Posts:  308
Joined:  2008-04-16
 

Just went to edit my categories and noticed they were gone. Not sure what I have done when as I have been editing the css for boxes, and menu and changed some images etc in the media folders… but I dont see how any of this would lose me my categories.

They are all still live on the front end its just theyre not in the admin section.

Any ideas??

Admin > catalog > manage categories > none showing.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

i have the same problem with the latest magento versions 1.1.7 and 1.1.8…
what can i do?

please help…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sebastian G
Guru
 
Total Posts:  336
Joined:  2007-09-15
 

Will you be able to post a screenshot from your categories management section?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

i had the problem 2 times. i resolved it by editing one product at the category section. in product edit under the category tab all categories displayed properly. after assigning the product to another category and save the product, all categories where shown right in the categories management section again.
when it happen again i will post a screenshot. thank you for your reply.
sorry for my bad english.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

and it just happen again, see the attachment Magento Admin_categories_management.jpg.
and at product management the categories still show right: Magento Admin_product_edit.jpg.

thank you

Image Attachments
Magento Admin_categories_management.jpgMagento Admin_product_edit.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sebastian G
Guru
 
Total Posts:  336
Joined:  2007-09-15
 

Hi Nafex, one last question, can you post a screenshot from your Magento Connect Manager?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

of course.
thank you very much for your help.

Image Attachments
Magento connect manager.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ukdazza
Guru
 
Total Posts:  308
Joined:  2008-04-16
 

I have this from time to time now… if you press F5 (ie. refresh) they all re-appear! :o)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

yes i can confirm that. refreshing the page works and is much easier than editing a product grin thank you wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sebastian G
Guru
 
Total Posts:  336
Joined:  2007-09-15
 

Nafex it seems to be JS related, what OS and browsers are you using? (if you can add as much info on them it would be great) smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

i’m using windows vista and firefox.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; de; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sebastian G
Guru
 
Total Posts:  336
Joined:  2007-09-15
 

Thank you, i’ll investigate further smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NafeX
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-12-18
 

i think i have found where the problem is. i have the firefox plugin firebug and yslow installed. after suspending it, i cannot reproduce this anymore. and when i resume the firebug with yslow, sometimes it happens again…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Andy LD
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  21
Joined:  2008-06-26
 

Suspending Firebug solved it also for me. NafeX, thank you very much for this tip!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top