Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

newbie trying to understand data structure

Jake99

Total Posts:  32

Hello,

I am trying to understand the database schema and would like some help as I am a newbie at this. It seems that there is meta data stored within the tables as well which is great for scalability but challenging for us newbies. Could someone point me in the right direction, preferably with a simple query, on where to get all of the product information for a specific product_id? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am trying to figure out which tables all join together to get the meta-data and data for product_id 16 as an example. Thanks.

Jake

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

nikefido
Guru

Total Posts:  481
New Haven, CT

Magento is design so most of your customizations will work through the database abstraction layer. This is a fancy term which means “Magento has functions built in so you don’t have to worry about making complex SQL queries”

Of course, this adds the complication of learning the code in Magento, which isn’t well documented.

Anyway, search around the Block code in app/code/core/mage/Catalog/Block/Product and you will see code dealing with “collections”

These are the product collections being queried from the database. So you’ll see something like:

$collection Mage::getModel('catalog/product')->getCollection

->addAttributeToFilter('some attribute')
      ->
addAttributeToSelect('*');  //select all attributes