Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Import Field Mapping category_ids missing after upgrading to Magento
 
Rhonda_Rondeau
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  924
Joined:  2010-08-03
Culver City
 

Hey,

I just went to view the request in our system and I’ll have to follow up on Tuesday but I was under the impression it was being worked on prior to the release off 1.5.  Not sure where the disconnect is.

Rhonda

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 
mediagang - 17 February 2011 11:19 PM

I upgraded to 1.5.1 and it has not been fixed. 

Also, previously you could import images by adding the image files to the media > import folder and then reference the file in your spreadsheet as /imgename.jpg .  This is not possible now. 

Basically we cannot go live without these features.

Is there a bug logged in for this ?
I would initiate a new thread just not to mix up the conversation. Thanks for sharing.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Rhonda_Rondeau
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  924
Joined:  2010-08-03
Culver City
 
Darsh - 21 February 2011 06:05 PM

mediagang - 17 February 2011 11:19 PM
I upgraded to 1.5.1 and it has not been fixed. 

Also, previously you could import images by adding the image files to the media > import folder and then reference the file in your spreadsheet as /imgename.jpg .  This is not possible now. 

Basically we cannot go live without these features.

Is there a bug logged in for this ?
I would initiate a new thread just not to mix up the conversation. Thanks for sharing.

Yes— 25,020

I’m checking in. We’re on a 3 day weekend and as you’re aware we’ve had some site issues.

Rhonda

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 
rondata - 21 February 2011 06:26 PM


Yes— 25,020


I’m checking in. We’re on a 3 day weekend and as you’re aware we’ve had some site issues.

Rhonda

Any updates on the category issue. I wonder how other users are coping with the loss of this functionality. Is there a work around that I am unaware of?

Darsh

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

Bumpde Bump

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
impi_busy
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2009-02-18
 

Hi there,

I have also noticed this bug and I am using Magento ver. 1.10.0.1 EE
I do see that as you map the fields the extension generates a XML similar to the following

<action type="dataflow/convert_adapter_io" method="load">
    <var 
name="type">file</var>
    <var 
name="path">var/export</var>
    <var 
name="filename"><![CDATA[DataSample.csv]]></var>
    <var 
name="format"><![CDATA[csv]]></var>
</
action>

<
action type="dataflow/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
    <var 
name="delimiter"><![CDATA[,]]></var>
    <var 
name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
    <var name="
fieldnames"></var>
    <var name="
map">
        <map name="
Store"><![CDATA[store]]></map>
        <map name="
Websites"><![CDATA[websites]]></map>
        <map name="
Attribute set"><![CDATA[attribute_set]]></map>
        <map name="
Type"><![CDATA[type]]></map>
        <map name="
SKU"><![CDATA[sku]]></map>
        <map name="
Product name"><![CDATA[name]]></map>
        <map name="
Brand"><![CDATA[elcru_toy_brand]]></map>
        <map name="
Gender"><![CDATA[elcru_toy_gender]]></map>
        <map name="
Minimum age"><![CDATA[elcru_toy_min_age]]></map>
        <map name="
Max age"><![CDATA[elcru_toy_max_age]]></map>
        <map name="
Short Description"><![CDATA[short_description]]></map>
        <map name="
Price"><![CDATA[price]]></map>
        <map name="
Old Price"><![CDATA[special_price]]></map>
        <map name="
Quantity"><![CDATA[qty]]></map>
        <map name="
Minimum Order Amount"><![CDATA[min_sale_qty]]></map>
        <map name="
Self-Assembly"><![CDATA[elcru_toy_self_assembly]]></map>
        <map name="
Battery product"><![CDATA[elcru_toy_battery_product]]></map>
        <map name="
Status"><![CDATA[status]]></map>
    </var>
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[4]]></var>
    <var name="
number_of_records">1</var>
    <var name="
decimal_separator"><![CDATA[.]]></var>
    <var name="
adapter">catalog/convert_adapter_product</var>
    <var name="
method">parse</var>
</action>

This leads me to believe that one can add a map to map the categories to the right field in your CSV or Excel file.
I’ll work in this and post my updates here

impi

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

Magento - What’s going on. have we lost this option forever?

There has been 2 releases since this issue and there is no communication as to what is going on?
All we know is acknowledgement and that’s the end of it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

BUmp Bumpp BUupp

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mediasuite
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2009-02-13
Zurich, Switzerland
 

bumb, bumb, bumb..... me too!
without the part is the data exchange with CSV not possible.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

Any Updates Yet? It is getting ridiculous now if you look at when this thread was created and the releases that have been there. Please close the thread if nothing is gone happen.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Darsh
Member
 
Total Posts:  71
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

bull@#$%$ magento is fixing the problem so many releases. !!!!!!!!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
PuxaTino
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2010-08-16
 

RIght guys...It´s a real pain that Magento team still dint fix this… but I just found a way around this that might help some body…

I´m on CE 1.5.1, and my “trick” goes like this:

1.  System> Import/Export > Dataflow Profiles
Create here a profile as usual (import or export), map all ifelds you want and at the end include one field you dnt want (eg “size"). Save it
Then on the menu at the left “Profile Actions XML” , copy that XML code

2. System> Import/Export > Dataflow Advanced Profiles
Create a new one and paste that XML.
Then you must replace manually the references to that field you dnt want, on our example “size”, for “category_ids”. Save

3. Run that profile and it´ll do the job!!!

It is a bit doughy and defenetly not the solution… but it did work fine for me!!!

I hope this helps to anyone!!!

Tino

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dotprkirk
Member
 
Total Posts:  50
Joined:  2008-04-22
 

Is this STILL not fixed? We’re up to 1.6.1 now.

Please advise.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Quaeso
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  334
Joined:  2010-04-03
 

Have somebody solved the problem?

I updated from 1.4.2 to 1.7.0.2 and now appears this error when I go to categories (backend):

Fatal errorCall to a member function getAttributeCode() on a non-object in /home/militae1/public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Catalog/Category/Tab/Attributes.php on line 137
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Juddder
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2008-03-26
London
 

It’s not included in the default export, or documented [but hey what is with Magento...] but the code looks for a column called

_category

(note the _ at the beginning) before it does any other category settings.

If you set this to the NAME of your category (not the ID) then this works on the import

Here’s a quick example (only showing some relevant fields):

store    websites    _attribute_set    _type    _category    category_ids    sku
admin    base    
Default    simple    Jewellery    39,42    B0100103SILVER10M

You can read the process in

/app/code/core/Mage/ImportExport/Model/Import/Entity/Product.php

and the relevant checks are done in

_isProductCategoryValid()

and in

_saveProducts()

at the label ‘// 3. Categories phase’

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top