Magento Forum

how to set user permissions in configuration

bigman00

Total Posts:  14

hi fellows, I am new to magento, I wonder if other user in the system can change the “admin” user details or just the “admin” can determin other users? how should i set users permissions if I want some help from others please?

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

michaelbower

Total Posts:  8
Fallbrook, CA

Hi Bigman00!

Using the role-based system in Magento, It is easy to set permissions on a by-user basis.

Let us say you wanted to set up another user with all permissions EXCEPT the ability to add/ edit users.

First, create a role for your user. From the admin panel, go to System > Permissions > Roles. Click Add New Role on the upper right. Name the role and click Role Resources on the left. Check every box that you want this person to have access to. In our example, that would be all checked EXCEPT for System > Permissions. Click Save Role.

Next, create the user and assign the new role you created. System > Permissions > Users. Click Add New User. Enter the user info and then under User Role on the left, select the role you just created. Click Save User.

Magento Community
Magento Community

bigman00

michaeldbower - 11 December 2010 09:53 AM

Hi Bigman00!

Using the role-based system in Magento, It is easy to set permissions on a by-user basis.

Let us say you wanted to set up another user with all permissions EXCEPT the ability to add/ edit users.

First, create a role for your user. From the admin panel, go to System > Permissions > Roles. Click Add New Role on the upper right. Name the role and click Role Resources on the left. Check every box that you want this person to have access to. In our example, that would be all checked EXCEPT for System > Permissions. Click Save Role.