Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Problem Updating on Localhost

misterpatrick

Total Posts:  74

Hello all,

I am running a test installations of 1.4.2.0 under OS X Snow Leopard and Snow Leopard Server. I am running into problems updating using Magento Connect. I am trying to figure out what might be wrong. I am new to using Magento and the more I can understand the updating process the better. Here is the exception error:

Exception caught:

Warning: Parameter 3 to PEAR_Task_Replace::validateXml() expected to be a reference, value given in /Users/patrick/Sites/magento/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2/Validator.php on line 1143

and here is the backtrace:

Backtrace:
#0 [internal function]: mageCoreErrorHandler(2, ‘Parameter 3 to ...’, ‘/Users/patrick/...’, 1143, Array)
#1 /Users/patrick/Sites/magento/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2/Validator.php(1143): call_user_func(Array, Object(PEAR_PackageFile_v2), Array, Object(PEAR_Config), Array)
#2 /Users/patrick/Sites/magento/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2/Validator.php(1216): PEAR_PackageFile_v2_Validator->_validateFilelist(Array, false, ‘’)
#3 /Users/patrick/Sites/magento/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2/Validator.php(252): PEAR_PackageFile_v2_Validator->_validateFilelist()
#4 /Users/patrick/Sites/magento/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/PackageFile/v2.php(1920): PEAR_PackageFile_v2_Validator->validate(Object(PEAR_PackageFile_v2), 3)
#5 /Users/patrick/Sites/magento/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/Registry.php(1226): PEAR_PackageFile_v2->validate()