Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Magento 1.4.2.0 rc2 and qiuck search problem on frontend - please help! 
 
jemoon
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  128
Joined:  2008-09-30
Gdansk, Poland
 

Hi,
I have upgraded my Magento from 1.4.1.1 to 1.4.2.0-rc2 and everything works ok except quick search form on frontend. When I put a query I get all my products as a result :/ If anyone had this prolem before please give me some clues because it looks like I’m stuck with this issue - reindexing, clearing the cache etc is not working for me. I can only add that my advanced form is working OK.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sobaka1
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-21
Kiev
 

It’s my problem too…
What about answer?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Arwin
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-11-21
 

I have the same problem. I need help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jemoon
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  128
Joined:  2008-09-30
Gdansk, Poland
 

Hi,
Just to let you know - I have found a solution smile I think that developers have made some mistake because comparing to previous versions it looks that in app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Mysql4/Fulltext.php on line 342 should be:

$likeCond '(' join(' AND '$like) . ')';
instead:
$likeCond '(' join(' OR '$like) . ')';

Just change the line like I posted above re-compile your shop and reindex search index - works for me smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Arwin
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-11-21
 

It did not work in my shop, I’m still searching…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Arwin
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-11-21
 

OK,

I can fix it temporary by copying the app/code/core/CatalogSearch folder from 1.4.1.1

smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
apexj
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-07-05
 
jemoon - 15 December 2010 01:48 AM

Hi,
Just to let you know - I have found a solution smile I think that developers have made some mistake because comparing to previous versions it looks that in app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Mysql4/Fulltext.php on line 342 should be:

$likeCond '(' join(' AND '$like) . ')';
instead:
$likeCond '(' join(' OR '$like) . ')';

Just change the line like I posted above re-compile your shop and reindex search index - works for me smile

Excellent. Worked for me. Thank you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
webscot
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  192
Joined:  2009-05-12
 

We have run into a problem in 1.4.1.1 with the catalog search and the advanced search pagination.

The results of a particular term produced 212 results. The catalog search result page proceeds to display all 212 results. Pagination is set to 24 items per page and the drop-down does display a selection of different numbers of results per page although these are ignored in the results.

The toolbar shows “Items1 to 212 of 212” on page 1. The toolbar does show multiple pages (1 2 3 4 5). If a person is to click on page 2, the resulting page still shows all 212 items again, but the toolbar now shows “Items 25 to 236 of 212”. Page 3 will result in “Items 49 to 260 of 212” showing all 212 results on the page and so on.

No matter what page you select, you will load and display all 212 results and the toolbar continues to increase incorrectly in the Items count.

I have checked and we are using all original 1.4.1.1 files in /app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch

The same toolbar.phtml is called in the catalog.xml and catalogsearch.xml
<block type=\"catalog/product_list_toolbar\" name=\"product_list_toolbar\" template=\"catalog/product/list/toolbar.phtml\">
<block type=\"page/html_pager\" name=\"product_list_toolbar_pager\"/>

Interestingly, we have no problem with the toolbar/pager in the category product views. Therefore, I surmise the problem to be somewhere in the Catalogsearch functions.

We have tried to delete our custom toolbar.phtml file and use base/default. This has changed nothing.

We have not altered any Catalog or Page/Html core files either that would affect this.

I also have tried swapping the Catalogsearch folder; /app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Block/Product/List/Toolbar.php; and, /app/code/core/Mage/Page/Block/Html/Pager.php, using versions 1.3.2.4, 1.4.0.1, 1.4.2.0, and 1.5.0.1, and this did not solve the problem.

Does anyone have an idea how to fix this?

This is our last \"issue\" to resolve.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
medlington2
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2011-02-04
 

Im having the same problem, tried copying the line into my Fulltext file but no joy, anyone got any other ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
medlington2
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2011-02-04
 

I’ve got round this by just adapting the search form to send to a custom script that recreates the search URL produced from the advanced search and then just redirecting to that, probably not the best but it worked for me.

Hope that helps

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vdeluca
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-27
Buenos Aires
 

I had the same problem when I was removed the line below, from layout file catalogsearch.xml

<block type="catalogsearch/layer" name="catalogsearch.leftnav" after="currency" template="catalog/layer/view.phtml"/>

Vicente.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
saho
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  52
Joined:  2008-08-06
 
jemoon - 15 December 2010 01:48 AM

Hi,
Just to let you know - I have found a solution smile I think that developers have made some mistake because comparing to previous versions it looks that in app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Mysql4/Fulltext.php on line 342 should be:

$likeCond '(' join(' AND '$like) . ')';
instead:
$likeCond '(' join(' OR '$like) . ')';

Just change the line like I posted above re-compile your shop and reindex search index - works for me smile

Worked for me like he says you have to REINDEX catalog search.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cwschneider
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  88
Joined:  2008-10-20
Koblenz
 

Hi

jemoon - 15 December 2010 01:48 AM

Hi,
Just to let you know - I have found a solution :) I think that developers have made some mistake because comparing to previous versions it looks that in app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Mysql4/Fulltext.php on line 342 should be:

$likeCond '(' join(' AND '$like) . ')';
instead:
$likeCond '(' join(' OR '$like) . ')';

Just change the line like I posted above re-compile your shop and reindex search index - works for me :)

Because I had the same problem after update to 1.6.1.0 and didn’t find this line in the file anymore, here is the one I change:
app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Resource/Fulltext.php on line 348 to get search working.

Delete cache and reindex search index - works fine for me.

Regards,
Christian.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sobaka1
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-21
Kiev
 

There was problem with encoding of one database character/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
freeohio
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2010-06-10
 

I’m on 1.5 on one site and 1.6 on another, and neither had usable search results until I made this simple change. Thank you!

jemoon - 15 December 2010 01:48 AM

Just to let you know - I have found a solution smile I think that developers have made some mistake because comparing to previous versions it looks that in app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Mysql4/Fulltext.php on line 342 should be:

$likeCond '(' join(' AND '$like) . ')';
instead:
$likeCond '(' join(' OR '$like) . ')';

Just change the line like I posted above re-compile your shop and reindex search index - works for me smile
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sinprime
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-04-01
 
jemoon - 15 December 2010 01:48 AM

Hi,
Just to let you know - I have found a solution smile I think that developers have made some mistake because comparing to previous versions it looks that in app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Mysql4/Fulltext.php on line 342 should be:

$likeCond '(' join(' AND '$like) . ')';
instead:
$likeCond '(' join(' OR '$like) . ')';

Just change the line like I posted above re-compile your shop and reindex search index - works for me smile

for magento 1.7 file change on app/code/core/Mage/CatalogSearch/Model/Resource/Fulltext.php

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2