Magento Forum

migrating magento server - backend works front is white
 
sopiaz57
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-11-28
 

I am moving a custom designed magento site to my server (followed http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/groups/227/moving_magento_to_another_server)

and am having some issues with the frontend. The backend is OK, all the data is there (CMS data, customers, orders, etc)

Frontend gives me the white screen, i tried uncommenting index.php: #ini_set(’display_errors’, 1); but still see nothing.

I have spent the entire night researching this and am so close. I copied and checked media, skin and app/design directories serveral times, ran the cleanup routines, verified php is getting 128 MB of ram and process time, restarted apache (dedicated server), checked all apache logs, virtual host logs, php error logs - still nothing to show for my magento white frontpage but a apache 200.

i removed files that were in /var/cache and session

I am on version 1.3.0 , once I verify integrity I will upgrade.

Thanks in advance.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
B00MER
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  130
Joined:  2007-12-27
DFW, TX
 

Have you tried just setting the theme/design back to the default to see if you get the same results?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

are your permissions set correctly?

brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sopiaz57
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-11-28
 

I went into the backend, unders System>configuration>Design
“Package” = default (I left this as is)

“Themes>Templates” - changed from “custom” to “default”
“Themes>Skin” - changed from “custom” to “default”
“Themes>Layout” - changed from “custom” to “default”
“Themes>Default” - changed from “custom” to “default”

Saved and checked, still get a white screen on my frontpage.

As for permissions, i ran the following and had no errors:

find . -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -type f -exec chmod 644 {} \;

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

ok,

are there any files in the var/log
might be some soft of indication in here

brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sopiaz57
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-11-28
 

I see sessions setup from my visits this morning in my magento document root /var/session

nothing in linux os /var/log - i have a php error log setup in there but there are no php errors being reported.  (I do have other sites running PHP with a few warnings so I know the logging is setup ok)

Is there anything I can add to magento index.php to see debug ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

sorry.

check under the magento folder for a var/report folder. See if there are any files in this. They should be error reports

brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sven4o
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2008-12-30
 

Check whether PHP runs as CGI or as an Apache module.

The file and folders’ permissions are different in the two cases.

You can find more details at:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/1_-_installation_and_configuration/magento_filesystem_permissions

Also, you can try to use strace to debug the execution of the Magento’s index php file.

Additionally, check the Magento logs. You can turn on the logs from your Magento admin area->System->Configuration->Developer->Log Settings->Enabled=Yes.

The log files will be located under the Magento_base_folder/var/logs directory.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sopiaz57
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-11-28
 

There is nothing in /var/report except a few files from when I had my DB password incorrect, who contents below:

user@serv3 report]$ ll
total 8
-rw-r--r-- 1 apache apache 1739 Nov 29 00:00 1025941624
-rw-r--r-- 1 apache apache 1740 Nov 29 00:13 -1694895283

I also turned logging on via the backend but see no system.log file in Magento_base_folder/var/logs directory.  Does that require me to create \"logs\" directory and / or restart any services in linux? Cant image so. (i just restarted httpd anyway)

As for permissions, I set 777 recursive in /var and in /media. per the article you posted : http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/1_-_installation_and_configuration/magento_filesystem_permissions

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sopiaz57
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-11-28
 

I am stuck, only last idea is to try the suggestion of running a strace on index.php, anyone know what that syntax looks like?  I usually attach strace to a PID not a file.

Thanks all in advance

ps. -not sure if this is helpful but my front page is still white, source looks like this:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC “-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META content="text/html; charset=utf-8” http-equiv=Content-Type></HEAD>
<BODY></BODY></HTML>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

have you got a .htacess file in the web root ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sopiaz57
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-11-28
 

Hi Guys

I just built a fresh install of apache, php, mysql, etc on a new server and get the same behavior when doing a restore.  I have a feeling this is a very basic skin/template issue but am not familur with magento themes and how to best move them around.

my steps
1. fresh unpacking of magento 1.3.0 which is whats running on the production environment.
2.restore of database via mysql cli tooks..(works fine)
3. restore of app/etc/local.xml config, change DB connect details as needed
4. copy in skin, media and app/design
5. permissions set

question - is there something in the DB table core_config_data that requires me to update the document root? for example instead of /customer/xyz1//httpdocs/magento (old path) to /home/sitename/www (new path)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

had a quick look and no. the only thing similar to that stored in the core_config_data is the web/unsecure/base_url

have you tried setting your store to the default theme?

brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wsfsb
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-09-13
 

Argh! I have the same problem, i too have moved from a dedicated server to a VPS with 1.7.0.2, front end white, backend works fine, actually the front end pages work all except for the home page, i have removed all additional extensions, triple checked permissions, changed default them, ran the magento cleanup script.  The old dedicated server was in PHP DSO mode, i have tries suPHP and CGI, doesnt make a difference.  I was hoping to find an answer here, still no response from 2010?

EDIT:  As frontend pages work, all except the home page menu link or accessing the url directly as / or /index.php/ i typed in /index.php/home and up comes the home page, no errors.  I am thinking this is more to do with URL re-writes, or .htaccess

OR something the new server is preventing from being run in the .htaccess setup.  Will look into that but if anyone has an idea, it would help greatly!

Any ideas?

Jason

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

Couple of things come to mind

1. Anything in the log files
2. Can you hit the homepage URL directly

Brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top