Magento Forum

Community Edition to Professional Edition

sushants1985

Total Posts:  6

Hi all,

I would be grateful to if some one could help me with my following problem:

I am a naive programmer of magento, I want my website to get migrated from community edition to Professional edition,

What I need is a check list or steps to migrate from community edition to professional one.

Kindly help me..looking forward to hear from you.

Regards
Sushant Srivastava

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

tzyganu
Mentor

Total Posts:  2205
Bucharest, Romania

Hi
I’m faced with a similar issue.
I’m trying to move a website built on Magento 1.1.6 to Enterprise Edition 1.9.1.1.
I’ve never seen the professional edition but I assume it’s like enterprise. (community edition + some additional modules).

So far I was able to move only the database and keep all the data. Now I just have to move the code.
What I did was to install Enterprise edition and in the step that asked me to fill in the db credentials, I added the current database credentials (the one for Magento 1.1.6). The install wend smooth. Now I have enterprise edition over the database of the community edition. All the orders and customers are kept (70000 orders and 60000 customer accounts).

The problem is that the user passwords don’t work anymore (EE has a different encrypting algorithm)
Some of the custom features don’t work yet. I think they conflict with something in the Enterprise edition. I just need to identify them and fix them. The important thing is that the most sensitive part (keeping the data) worked like a charm by only installing EE over the community database.

Maybe it works the same for professional edition.

Let me know how it turns out.

(Please backup first).

Magento Community
Magento Community

edmondscommerce
Guru

Total Posts:  342

How about upgrading CE to the latest version first before migrating up to EE or PE?

Magento Community
Magento Community