Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Move “additional information” into “product description” tab? 
 
guruproj
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  76
Joined:  2009-03-16
 

I’m trying to show “additional information” inside “product description” tab, right below the description. I copied/pasted code from /catelog/product/view/additional.phtml into /catelog/product/view/description.phtml so it is now:

<div class="product-specs">
  
<?php echo $this->helper('catalog/output')->productAttribute($this->getProduct(), nl2br($this->getProduct()->getDescription()), 'description'?>
  
</div>
  
  
//copied from additional.phtml
  
  
<php if($_additional $this->getAdditionalData()): ?>
  
<div class="collateral-box attribute-specs">
  <
table cellspacing="0" class="data-table" id="product-attribute-specs-table">
  
<?php foreach ($_additional as $_data): ?>
  
<tr>
  <
td class="label"><?php echo $this->__($_data['label']?></td>
  <
td class="data"><?php echo $_helper->productAttribute($_product$_data['value']$_data['code']?></td>
  </
tr>
  
<?php endforeach; ?>
  
</table>
  <
script type="text/javascript">decorateTable('product-attribute-specs-table')</script>
  
</div>
  
<?php endif;?>

But it doesn’t work.  $this->getAdditionalData() didn’t pop any data.  Is there a different funciton I should use?

Thanks in advance!
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
guruproj
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  76
Joined:  2009-03-16
 
liz0 - 28 October 2010 05:55 PM

I’m trying to show “additional information” inside “product description” tab, right below the description. I copied/pasted code from /catelog/product/view/additional.phtml into /catelog/product/view/description.phtml so it is now:

<div class="product-specs">
  
<?php echo $this->helper('catalog/output')->productAttribute($this->getProduct(), nl2br($this->getProduct()->getDescription()), 'description'?>
  
</div>
  
  
//copied from additional.phtml
  
  
<php if($_additional $this->getAdditionalData()): ?>
  
<div class="collateral-box attribute-specs">
  <
table cellspacing="0" class="data-table" id="product-attribute-specs-table">
  
<?php foreach ($_additional as $_data): ?>
  
<tr>
  <
td class="label"><?php echo $this->__($_data['label']?></td>
  <
td class="data"><?php echo $_helper->productAttribute($_product$_data['value']$_data['code']?></td>
  </
tr>
  
<?php endforeach; ?>
  
</table>
  <
script type="text/javascript">decorateTable('product-attribute-specs-table')</script>
  
</div>
  
<?php endif;?>

But it doesn’t work.  $this->getAdditionalData() didn’t pop any data.  Is there a different funciton I should use?

Thanks in advance!

ANYONE?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
guruproj
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  76
Joined:  2009-03-16
 

never mind. figured out.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Harmenk
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  35
Joined:  2009-08-10
Loppersum
 

Hello,

how did you figure it out? I have te same problem, only different code.

H.Kuijer

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
guruproj
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  76
Joined:  2009-03-16
 

Because getAdditionalData() is in app\code\core\Mage\Catalog\Block\Product\View\Attributes.php, but not in Description.php

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mohxin
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2012-08-26
 

Hi All…

Can anyone please tell how to make this function work in other tabs??

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top