Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

I am a newbie..the ‘manufacturer’ field is unusable…

rcalkins

Total Posts:  2

I am a newbie to magento...but I am trying to get it set-up. Why, when I add a new simple product , in ‘add a new product’ is the field labeled ‘MANUFACTURER’ not useable.  I use/need on each product added, the manufacturer. Both in-house and to appear in the store with each product I add… I have looked everywhere for info on this field, and all the books I have do not mention this field. The doc I have (Magento for beginners) and help on this page, talk about every other field, of which I do not have a problem with, BUT NOT THIS FIELD.
Any help would be appreciated.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

chiefair
Mentor

Total Posts:  1848

The manufacturer attribute is a drop-down selector.

You need to go into attribute management, pull up the Manufacturer attribute and add values to the list so the drop-down will be populated.

It’s done this way so you don’t end up with “tag spew”, that unenviable property of user produced tag clouds where you have a properly spelled manufacturer name surrounded by every possible misspelling and anyone trying to do a search on that attribute never gets a full search result because the one item they want to find is in one of the misspelled tag collections.

Magento Community
Magento Community

rcalkins

Total Posts:  2

I found it! It does make sense now that you have explained it. Thank you very much!!!  Still....don’t know why it is not mentioned in the docs...Well, anyway thanks......
Russ.....