Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How do I Add a Product!! 

Daddyslipdisk

Total Posts:  2

I’m an obvious newbie and Magento is incredibly confusing. I used OSCommerce and it was SO much easier, but this is obviously more involved and professional looking, but I am at a total loss. I’ve spent an entire day setting up all of the configurations and I also set up the categories (no products in them yet). I haven’t installed ANY add-ons except for the 1.4.1 patch it insisted on.  But I simply want to see what the products will look like on the page since the page is blank now (http://www.liftsandmore.com/store/). I added about 4 or 5 categories and they don’t show up. I also added a product in case nothing was displaying because there weren’t any products and it doesn’t show up either. I made sure it had an inventory of 100 and chose the “display even if out of stock” option, etc.  I even re-indexed the pages under Index Management to see if that was it.  And it’s not even products. I changed the Footer back in the Admin area and it refuses to update on the store home page.  But other things work fine (welcome message, etc.).  What is the normal culprit when stuff doesn’t show up in the store after you save it?

I went to the knowledgebase area for tutorials, but I guess they assume you know the basics because it goes into even more in-depth than I’m trying to figure out right now. And the attributes area is downright disturbing. Can someone help and point me in the right direction? I may have to go back to OSCommerce or Prestashop. Magento is a tad daunting.

Magento Community Magento Community