Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
This forum annoying captcha! 
 
sulman
Member
 
Total Posts:  72
Joined:  2010-06-10
 

The captcha image (the little box you have to fill in to confirm you are a human before you post) is really annoying!

Is there anyway to switch this off?

Surely if you’re logged in it doesn’t need to show.

Sometimes it puts me off replying to posts because the thought of that captcha!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sander
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  232
Joined:  2008-01-08
Netherlands
 

I’d guess it’s not possible. And it prevents a forum overrun by spam…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
imwy2cool
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  164
Joined:  2009-05-07
 

I completely agree! WordPress forums don’t require this and I’m sure they get WAY more traffic than the Magento Forums get. Please Magento staff . . . remove the captcha image for logged in users. Or, how about this for an idea: Remove it when someone has posted at least 50 replies? That would be better than nothing and help eliminate the spam bots.

Even now I’m annoyed. I have to do it once again for this post.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sander
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  232
Joined:  2008-01-08
Netherlands
 

Well if that’s the case then I hope it gets removed here too smile

Good idea to disable it for trusted accounts.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sulman
Member
 
Total Posts:  72
Joined:  2010-06-10
 

I guess this is another thing that will fall on deaf ears :(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
imwy2cool
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  164
Joined:  2009-05-07
 

Are we the only ones that find the captcha really awkward?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sulman
Member
 
Total Posts:  72
Joined:  2010-06-10
 
imwy2cool - 02 November 2010 11:10 AM

Are we the only ones that find the captcha really awkward?

No, i reckon most people do but they can’t be bothered to reply to this thread because of the annoying captcha! :-D :-D :-D :-D

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
imwy2cool
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  164
Joined:  2009-05-07
 

True That!

Especially when you have to post twice nearly every time because the first time almost always says you entered the incorrect captcha. Even now I’m copy/pasting what I’m going to write because I know I’ll have to post it twice.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Marketiger
Member
 
Total Posts:  46
Joined:  2010-04-27
 
imwy2cool - 04 November 2010 06:34 AM

True That!

Especially when you have to post twice nearly every time because the first time almost always says you entered the incorrect captcha. Even now I’m copy/pasting what I’m going to write because I know I’ll have to post it twice.

Not to mention that special characters get escaped. And when you re-enter the captcha a few times, the escape sign gets escaped too! This leads to posts like that:

“what\\\\\\’s wrong with my code?”

Please tune back the captcha use a little. One single test on account creation should be enough.

edit: I had to enter the code three times before it went through.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Flaxton
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  137
Joined:  2010-06-03
Houston
 

The “fast reply” captcha just does not function properly. The “post reply” captcha works if you have only one tab/window of the forum open. As soon as you open multiple tabs/windows of the forum your pages must be refreshed before the captcha will work.

Very much a pain in the ass. Of course, the staff won’t care too much because they don’t have to captcha.

*edit: Followed my own advice that time and still had a wrong captcha....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
imwy2cool
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  164
Joined:  2009-05-07
 

Yeah, I’ve not posted a single post with the new captcha that has accepted what I enter the first time. Works 95% of the time on my second try.

Magento staff, this is a very very annoying issue. Please fix this on these forums, or disable it all together once you’ve verified a user.

*EDIT: I also had to post this twice like EVERY single post I post lately. I wouldn’t be surprised if when I attempt to post this edit I have to enter the captcha twice.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
webplus
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  46
Joined:  2008-11-06
 

Hey they are listening just sometimes its hard to hear you. Follow them on twitter and let them know when you have issues or complains or for that matter constructive criticism.

@magento
@rondata
@monocat

they are here to help we just need to help them sometimes.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Rhonda_Rondeau
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  924
Joined:  2010-08-03
Culver City
 

Hey guys,

There’s a couple of things on my priority hit list and captcha just jumped above all of them wink

Actually, I’m trying to get an ETA on getting this swapped out.  And yes, it’s necessary because it prevents SPAM - but trust me, all of us feel the pain of this particular captcha, myself included! 

As always, feel free to PM me anytime.

And yes, follow me on twitter, and you can contact me there as well.. smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
imwy2cool
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  164
Joined:  2009-05-07
 

First of all thank you for your reply.

I do understand the need to eliminate spam, but I know for myself it’s eliminating me from answering others questions.

Might it be possible with a new captcha system to set it up in a way that a member with 50 or more posts, who had not ever been flagged for spam, would no longer be required to use the captcha? I think that number could even be somewhere around 10-20, but I’m just saying . . . something like that?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Rhonda_Rondeau
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  924
Joined:  2010-08-03
Culver City
 

Hey there, that’s a good question. There is someone else working on this so let me check in with them and see what I can find out. smile

Rhonda

(sorry was helping someone on an account and forgot where I was)

(blush)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

agree the recaptcha isnt behaving as I would expect.

I still use my old trusted method of copy ‘n paste before I post

brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2