Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Move Search into the same block as the top level navigation

tcarneal

Total Posts:  1

I am new to magento and have been working with it for the last week or so. I love the package as a whole, though I am stilled a little confused.

I would like to move the top.search form into the top.menu area. to the far right, so I have all the categories left justified in that area and then have the top.search right justified.

I have created a new theme and it has worked fine for me thus far having moved some blocks around and customized some css so that is working fine.

I have removed <?php echo $this->getChildHtml('topSearch') ?> from app/design/frontend/default/my_theme/template/page/html/header.phtml and replaced the reference name “header” in app/design/frontend/default/my_theme/layout/catalogsearch.xml with “top.menu”

This moved the search bar below the navigation and to the right.. progress, but I can only see the move when I have Template Path Hints enabled. I have the cache disabled so I am confused, I even deleted the cache files just to make sure with no success, any ideas or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

runawaykinms

Total Posts:  80
United States

I am having the same exact problem, and tried the same things you did with the same results.