Magento Forum

   
Page 2 of 3
Installing on 1and1 Shared Hosting Server
 
dell
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  61
Joined:  2008-01-01
 

Well, I have to thank Mark, Monkeybum & Brady for finally getting 0.7.14800 installed on 1 + 1.  Way too many hours spent on this for one weekend.

The problem I had was the number (9) Brady said he replaced 9 instances of ‘SCRIPT_NAME” with ‘ORIG_SCRIPT_NAME’ and that after doing so hissite.com sent him to “mysite.com/install (whereas before it was mysite.com/index.php/install)

I had only replaced 8 instances even though I used find & replace on Store.php, Config.php, Url.php and functions.php

At wit’s end I went back through those scripts carefully and found the culprit.  In Url php there is a incidence that find & replace missed.

line 357 if (!Mage::getStoreConfigFlag(’web/url/use_orig_script_name‘)) {

the orig has use_script_name in small letters and f&r;missed it for me......  Maybe your problem is the same.

Anyway, like most of you, I’m now in and will start looking at this tomorrow...... 

big surprise

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mixedrealitystudio.com
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2007-12-07
UK
 

I will write up a full tutorial in the next few hours to show you. I just done it with no problems.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Good news, I’ve just tried installing the trunk version on 1and1 basic account, and it went smoothly, with no problems.

* Not using apache rewrites
* Using mysql 5 database.

The updates should be reflected in next release.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mixedrealitystudio.com
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2007-12-07
UK
 

Wow thats great Moshe. I eagerly await the next release any estimates on when.

Great product by the way. I built my own ecommerce solution and can see that you guys have put a tremendous amount of work into it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Josue4ever
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2007-10-03
Mexico DF
 

Well I couldnt install this version. I follow the instructions by dell and others and I couldnt install.

My question is:

What Kind of files i must delete to install (again) magento, because is too much work upload 9mb (take me 4 hours)
Every fresh installation give me a chance to make it works

Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

@Josue4ever: you need to delete just app/etc/local.xml to run install wizard again

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Josue4ever
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2007-10-03
Mexico DF
 

Well finally I could install magento. BUT it looks broken… Yo can see here

Then… i have benn changin the ORIG_SCRIPT_NAME and the installation runs great except the personal data that was broken

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rhemagraphix
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-01-14
San Jose, California, USA
 

Download Magento Core Modules and Updates Problem

When i get to this screen in the install process i click the “Proceed with Automatic Download (Beta) and the processes go as follows:
Setting preferred state to: beta

config-set succeeded

Downloading 
and installing Magentoplease wait...

Ignoring installed package pear/PEAR
Ignoring installed package mage
-core/Mage_Pear_Helpers
downloading Lib_ZF
-0.7.15480.tgz ...
Starting to download Lib_ZF-0.7.15480.tgz (2,083,995 bytes)
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ....
done2,083,995 bytes
downloading Lib_Varien
-0.7.15480.tgz ...
Starting to download Lib_Varien-0.7.15480.tgz (81,160 bytes)
...
done81,160 bytes
downloading Mage_All
-0.7.15480.tgz ...
Starting to download Mage_All-0.7.15480.tgz (1,928,493 bytes)
...
done1,928,493 bytes
downloading Interface_Frontend_Default
-0.7.15480.tgz ...
Starting to download Interface_Frontend_Default-0.7.15480.tgz (991,693 bytes)
 . ....
done991,693 bytes
downloading Interface_Adminhtml_Default
-0.7.15480.tgz ...
Starting to download Interface_Adminhtml_Default-0.7.15480.tgz (532,922 bytes)
...
done532,922 bytes
downloading Interface_Install_Default
-0.7.15480.tgz ...
Starting to download Interface_Install_Default-0.7.15480.tgz (111,740 bytes)
...
done111,740 bytes

then it just stops and i can’t click anywhere.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TJ74
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-02-10
Northants, UK
 

I am getting the same error as above

can anyone help please

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TA1212
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-02-15
 

I am installing on 1&1;, and am getting the error that I don’t have the correct version of PHP - although the htaccess file has specified the use of php5. Why isn’t it working? I am getting quite discouraged, as I have been trying to get this running all night long.

downer

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
PCGamesPlus
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  166
Joined:  2008-01-03
Sacramento, CA
 

I’ve had the same problem too.

I solved it by typing in install/wizard/config at the end of url when it gets stuck. Then it jumps ahead and I can finish the install.

Works every time.

I had the wrong php version error on my site when I enabled SSL on the Admin and Customer login pages.

1and1 Hosting helped me on that. In the default .htaccess file there is a special line for people with 1and 1 hosting. It goes like this.

AddType x-mapp-php5 .php

The people at 1and1 told me to change it to.

AddHandler x-mapp-php5 .php

And Bingo!, Now it works. No more wrong php version detected error. Give it a try. Good Luck

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jjackson02
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2007-08-31
Dallas, Tx
 

For 1and1 barebones install check out this link

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/3462/

This worked great for me on 1and1.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jjackson02
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2007-08-31
Dallas, Tx
 

Thanks 4alarm

I removed and reinstalled the site.

set the CHMOD the following files and directories to 777.
[file] magento/var/.htaccess
[dir] magento/app/etc
[dir] magento/var
[dir] magento/media

Changed
#AddType x-mapp-php5 .php

To:
AddHandler x-mapp-php .php4
AddHandler x-mapp-php5 .php

this time I was able to install the beta option. It did stall on me again, but when I changed the url path like you said and it worked fine for me.

Wonder why it stops like that and if it will have any damaging effect in the long run?

Well everything look great and I’m finally up and running on 1and1. 

Thanks again 4Alarm and Mike from barebones guide.

Can’t wait to kick the tires on this bad boy,
J

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
flowstack
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined:  2008-01-30
London, United Kingdom
 

If anyone is having problems with 1&1;and shared SSL, have a look at this post:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4320/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gadgetplay
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  30
Joined:  2008-05-03
Basingstoke, UK
 

Wow, thanks for the guide.

I was kicking myself to get php 5 working on my shared 1&1;server.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top
Page 2 of 3