When a user signs up for a new account AND ticks the Newsletter box to subscribe, his Newsletter subscription is confirmed via email BEFORE he has been able to confirm his account.
This should be sent and set AFTER the user has confirmed their email, and there should be a possibility of merging the two confirmations together.
I have both Newsletter and account confirmation set to yes in the admin. Using 1.1.6.
Bug submitted below - please comment there as well: