Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Index Management link option missing from System Menu
 
Urban River
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-02-14
 

Hi

We’ve just upgraded to version 1.4.1.0 and I need to re-index the data.  As far as I can see the Index Management link should be below the Cache Management Link under the System Menu.  It’s not there! 

Any ideas as to where or why this link isn’t available?

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Urban River
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-02-14
 

Any ideas?

Is there a way to manually re-index the data?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Urban River
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-02-14
 

I appreciate Magento is unsupported but Magento’s lack of interest in the bugs is shocking bad on these forums.  90% of threads are unanswered.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Marajasa
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2010-02-26
 

Hi!

Have you found the index management? I have the same problem. Search index doesn´t work anymore, but no index management link offered in backend ...

Would be so thankful for help ...

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bnuggs
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2010-07-01
Southfield, MI
 

Magento 1.4.x has a directory called shell/ with various admin functions you can run from the command line. One of them is called “indexer.php”. The syntax to reindex all of the indexes is as follows:

From your magento root type:

php -f shell/indexer.php reindexall
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hive.net.au
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2008-08-14
Gold Coast, Australia
 

Hi Guys,

After a little help. I have been trying to get the upgrade to work from 1.3.2.1 to 1.4.2.0 and we have made it through most erros :( however i can not get products to display, I have looked through the data base and all the index tabels are empty, however i can not get the index management admin item to display in the menu and when i run shell script nothing seems to happen, no output also no errors.

So i was wondering if any one has any solutions.

Installation was a copy of the old 1.3 db with fresh new magento files. Have tried connect upgrades to get the menu to work with out success.

Any help would be fantastic. I had to upgrade from previous version due to security issues.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gabrielreloaded
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2010-06-03
 

Please check the file \app\etc\modules\Mage_All.xml

If you haven’t the following lines please add them or restore de original file from the magento installation package.

<Mage_Index>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
<depends>
<Mage_Core/>
</depends>
</Mage_Index>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chitra h
Member
 
Total Posts:  43
Joined:  2010-05-23
 
gabrielreloaded - 07 September 2011 11:31 PM

Please check the file \app\etc\modules\Mage_All.xml

If you haven’t the following lines please add them or restore de original file from the magento installation package.

<Mage_Index>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
<depends>
<Mage_Core/>
</depends>
</Mage_Index>

This saved my time.
Suddenly my “Index Management” tab was missing.
Using the above its getting displayed now.
Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top