Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Can’t log in to backend after upgrading from 1.4.0.1 to 1.4.1.0
 
lismith
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2010-06-14
 

After upgrading from 1.4.0.1 to 1.4.1.0 the frontend works but I can’t log into the backend. This is the error. Help!?

SELECT `e`.*, SUM((e.base_subtotal-IFNULL(e.base_subtotal_refunded,0)-IFNULL(e.base_subtotal_canceled,0)-IFNULL(e.base_discount_amount,0)+IFNULL(e.base_discount_refunded,0))*e.base_to_global_rate) AS `revenue`, SUM((e.base_tax_amount-IFNULL(e.base_tax_refunded,0)-IFNULL(e.base_tax_canceled,0))*e.base_to_global_rate) AS `tax`, SUM((e.base_shipping_amount-IFNULL(e.base_shipping_refunded,0)-IFNULL(e.base_shipping_canceled,0))*e.base_to_global_rate) AS `shipping`, COUNT(e.entity_id) AS `quantity` FROM `sales_flat_order` AS `e` WHERE (e.entity_type_id = ‘11’) AND (e.created_at >= ‘2010-06-13 19:50:54’ and e.created_at <= ‘2010-06-14 19:50:54’) AND (e.state != ‘canceled’) GROUP BY `e`.`entity_type_id`

Trace:
#0 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(47388): Zend_Db_Statement_Pdo->_execute(Array)
#1 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(39317): Zend_Db_Statement->execute(Array)
#2 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(40338): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->query(’SELECT `e`.*, S...’, Array)
#3 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(41088): Zend_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Abstract->query(’SELECT `e`.*, S...’, Array)
#4 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(39555): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->query(Object(Varien_Db_Select), Array)
#5 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(27088): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->fetchAll(Object(Varien_Db_Select), Array)
#6 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract.php(953): Varien_Data_Collection_Db->_fetchAll(Object(Varien_Db_Select))
#7 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract.php(793): Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract->_loadEntities(false, false)
#8 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard_Totals.php(64): Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract->load()
#9 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(1611): Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard_Totals->_prepareLayout()
#10 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(23709): Mage_Core_Block_Abstract->setLayout(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout))
#11 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard.php(45): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->createBlock(’adminhtml/dashb...’)
#12 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(1611): Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard->_prepareLayout()
#13 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(23732): Mage_Core_Block_Abstract->setLayout(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout))
#14 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(23516): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->addBlock(’Mage_Adminhtml_...’, ‘dashboard’)
#15 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(23482): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->_generateBlock(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Element), Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Element))
#16 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(23487): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->generateBlocks(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Element))
#17 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(11176): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->generateBlocks()
#18 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(11103): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->generateLayoutBlocks()
#19 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/Mage_Adminhtml_Controller_Action.php(263): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->loadLayout(NULL, true, true)
#20 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/controllers/DashboardController.php(40): Mage_Adminhtml_Controller_Action->loadLayout()
#21 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(11251): Mage_Adminhtml_DashboardController->indexAction()
#22 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(15150): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->dispatch(’index’)
#23 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(14752): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Standard->match(Object(Mage_Core_Controller_Request_Http))
#24 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/includes/src/__default.php(16949): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Front->dispatch()
#25 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/app/Mage.php(596): Mage_Core_Model_App->run(Array)
#26 /mnt/w0106/d48/s34/b0321c08/www/[MYWEBSITE]/index.php(78): Mage::run(’’, ‘store’)
#27 {main}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dzeto
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-09-26
 

Did you get this fixed? I have got the same problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Weis
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2009-02-27
Kiev, Ukraine
 

Note that your magento continues to use files from complier (includes in the file path).
Disable compiler and upgrade it again.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Black Magic Digital
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-02-06
 

Hi Weis,

How do you disable the compiler?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Black Magic Digital
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-02-06
 

I get the following error when trying to log in to admin

SELECT `e`.*, SUM((e.base_subtotal-IFNULL(e.base_subtotal_refunded,0)-IFNULL(e.base_subtotal_canceled,0)-IFNULL(e.base_discount_amount,0)+IFNULL(e.base_discount_refunded,0))*e.base_to_global_rate) AS `revenue`, SUM((e.base_tax_amount-IFNULL(e.base_tax_refunded,0)-IFNULL(e.base_tax_canceled,0))*e.base_to_global_rate) AS `tax`, SUM((e.base_shipping_amount-IFNULL(e.base_shipping_refunded,0)-IFNULL(e.base_shipping_canceled,0))*e.base_to_global_rate) AS `shipping`, COUNT(e.entity_id) AS `quantity` FROM `sales_order` AS `e` WHERE (e.entity_type_id = \’11\’) AND (e.created_at >= \’2010-07-20 11:12:48\’ and e.created_at <= \’2010-07-21 11:12:48\’) AND (e.state != \’canceled\’) AND (e.status not in (\’abandoned_sagepay\’)) AND (e.status not in (\’pending_sagepay\’)) GROUP BY `e`.`entity_type_id`

Trace:
#0 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/lib/Zend/Db/Statement.php(300): Zend_Db_Statement_Pdo->_execute(Array)
#1 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php(468): Zend_Db_Statement->execute(Array)
#2 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Abstract.php(238): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->query(\’SELECT `e`.*, S...\’, Array)
#3 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(333): Zend_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Abstract->query(\’SELECT `e`.*, S...\’, Array)
#4 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php(706): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->query(Object(Varien_Db_Select), Array)
#5 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/lib/Varien/Data/Collection/Db.php(696): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->fetchAll(Object(Varien_Db_Select), Array)
#6 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Collection/Abstract.php(953): Varien_Data_Collection_Db->_fetchAll(Object(Varien_Db_Select))
#7 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Eav/Model/Entity/Collection/Abstract.php(793): Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract->_loadEntities(false, false)
#8 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Dashboard/Totals.php(64): Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract->load()
#9 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Block/Abstract.php(211): Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard_Totals->_prepareLayout()
#10 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout.php(434): Mage_Core_Block_Abstract->setLayout(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout))
#11 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Dashboard.php(45): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->createBlock(\’adminhtml/dashb...\’)
#12 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Block/Abstract.php(211): Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard->_prepareLayout()
#13 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout.php(457): Mage_Core_Block_Abstract->setLayout(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout))
#14 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout.php(241): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->addBlock(\’Mage_Adminhtml_...\’, \’dashboard\’)
#15 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout.php(207): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->_generateBlock(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Element), Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Element))
#16 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout.php(212): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->generateBlocks(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Layout_Element))
#17 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php(343): Mage_Core_Model_Layout->generateBlocks()
#18 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php(270): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->generateLayoutBlocks()
#19 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Controller/Action.php(263): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->loadLayout(NULL, true, true)
#20 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/controllers/DashboardController.php(40): Mage_Adminhtml_Controller_Action->loadLayout()
#21 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php(418): Mage_Adminhtml_DashboardController->indexAction()
#22 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Router/Standard.php(254): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->dispatch(\’index\’)
#23 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Front.php(177): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Standard->match(Object(Mage_Core_Controller_Request_Http))
#24 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/App.php(304): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Front->dispatch()
#25 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/app/Mage.php(596): Mage_Core_Model_App->run(Array)
#26 /var/www/vhosts/purplesole.com/httpdocs/index.php(78): Mage::run(\’\’, \’store\’)
#27 {main}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mkos
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2009-12-03
Florida
 

Ok I have the same exact problem.  So far I’ve traced it down to a non existant column

`sales_flat_order` AS `eWHERE (e.entity_type_id

entity_type_id does not exist in sales_flat_order… I copied the SQL and ran it straight against the database to find this or edit the SQL and change the column name to entity_type that actually does exist.  Hmmm...anyone have any clues as to which file maight be generating this SQL???  If you can find it I promise to share either my triumph or bitter failure with you!!

This really is a mess.  I didn’t even to intend on “upgrading”.  I made the fatal mistake of using Magento Connect to update an extension I use for SEO and whallla!  I now have the pain of trying to figure out how to get 1.4.1.0 to work.  NICE!!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mkos
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2009-12-03
Florida
 

It has been a very long night… I finally decided to just create the column and throw caution to the wind.  When I did, the error went away.  Now the 1 billion dollar question is; does that actually fix anything or did I inject yet another problem?  It seemed that the issues casscaded through the night, common errors that others had posted about.  The change in the page.xml thing, another error from not seeing the post about deleting refernces to payment/verisign and payment/amazon.  Worked through all of those.  I was using Fooman’s Speedster which I had to uninstall to see the backend again.  Once all that was completed I was able to log in and things seem sort of normal now. 

I very much understand the complexity of Magento and appreciate the hard work that goes into new releases.  The one thing that is somewhat disappointing is the fact that using Magento Connect can (and in most cases) be very perilous.  I’ve read through 1,000’s of posts (I call them the “Horrible Wailing and Gnashing of Teeth") concerning upgrades.  You would think this would be the number 1 item to be worked through and stabilized.  I don’t have issues using pear via ssh to upgrade and when I am intentionally upgrading I do just that.  The thing that really befassles me is that I can’t seem to keep extensions up to date with Magento Connect without the risk of unintentionally upgrading my whole system.  My plan was to wait, continue to follow the upgrade woes until the painful portions of upgrading were sorted out and then upgrade.  I see that as a reasonablly responsible way to upgrade anything.  When that choice is taken away and not so technically adept users are faced with the same types of issues I spent the night resolving they may choose to throw thier hands up and walk away from Magento.  I’m sure many have done just that.  What saddens me to no end is that this is such a technically advanced system with a very broken automated upgrade process.  Just because a clean install works does not mean the work is done.  I know it is almost impossible to replicate every possible system configuration much less other packages or software that is installed on the system.  But there is something to be said for Beta testing and having a defined group of testers that can provide meaningful feedback.  I myself have the luxury of having a development system.  I mirror my production environment on development and do test releases.  Having a group of say 100 or so people with the resources to perform testing could significantly reduce the pain of upgrading. 

Understandably, these forums have turned into sort of a knowledge base which I’m sure most are using very heavily.  Unfortuneately, reading release notes does not give you a clear enough picture of the peril ahead.  Most of my time last night was spend searching.  I’d find a problem, take select portions of error messages and search.  Get an idea from the posts returned, read the code or sql and make a change.  The problem is two fold; the time a site is down while fixing issues and changing core code in this complex of a system.  The next upgrade will more than probably overwrite the “fixes\hacks” one has made.  If the fixes\hacks are not overwritten and the updated code from an upgrade doesn’t like the fix\hack new wonderfully wierd issues arise that no one else is experiencing.  Unless you are or have been a developer (I used to be), this leaves your back against the wall with a system that is very unstable or at least questionable.  Exporting and reimporting categories and products and rebuilding an entire site can take days, maybe even weeks.  My main site is a virtual mall, I currently have 3 stores up and running inside which are managed by my users.  Telling someone that is paying you for a service that “Whoops, I unintentionally upgraded and broke the entire system” is not a good thing by any stretch of the imagination.  Spending $12,000 a year for the enterprise version certainly isn’t even on the radar at this point.  Even the newly released “Professional” Edition at $2995 doesn’t make sense.  Maybe it’s that Open Source from the Varien standpoint means the poeple running CE are “tinkering” and not necessrily serious.  If that is the case from what I’ve seen in these forums they couldn’t be more wrong.  Sure, I believe in free enterprise and capitalism, I’m American!  We live and breath that (at least we used to).  But the stability of any software package is definately what makes it or breaks it in the potential user’s eyes.  I’ve seem many GPL packages that are rock solid as well as many that are anything but stable.  The ones that are not stable eventually go away, the ones that are stable build a strong user base.  The issues I’m seeing with Magento CE could very well have it tettering on the success\failure fence. 

Thonk of it in these terms; if Linus Torvold would have half way committed himself to Linux would Linux be where it is today?  If Varien’s interest in the software is solely commercial and they have no interest in building a strong stable GPL product why bother?  I’m not knocking the GPL developers who are spending thier own time and effort to work on Magento.  Without them CE wouldn’t exist at all.  I think using CE as a feature test platform for Enterprise may make sense.  Other commercial software companies do just that and have found success and stabilty doing it.  It seems there is sort of an “Iron Curtian” between the Varien commercial developers and the CE developers.  At least that is the impression I get.  If I’m wrong (and I really wish I were) certainly set me straight.  If there are open dialogs between the Varien Development Team and the CE Development Team concerning implementation, features, coding standards...I think quite a few CE users would love to know. 

Ok, I’ve ranted enough...probably have made quite a few people really mad, but I feel better now smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Angeltears
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2009-04-15
 

I am having the same feelings here!

Thank you for putting it down in words for the rest with the same feelings.

I have 20 years of experience with installing software. Magento gives me terrible headaches.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dooneyandbourke
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2010-09-24
 

so cool, my problem is solution.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fernandofbf
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2010-08-21
 

good night, I got the same problem, and four customer sites at once! I’m going crazy looking for both a light and nothing! see:

Imóveis | Peças para Automóveis | Flores | Acompanhante

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chapagain
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  202
Joined:  2009-07-19
 

My case was related with database table import. My Magento database was not completely imported. I re-imported the database again and the problem is solved now.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mickeydblw
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-10-30
 

Ok, just found this post and the trick to finding out what was going on was to enable the local.xml in the errors directory then using myphpAdmin run the queries that were causing the system to choke and it was an import issue for my system. As per chapagain’s post.

Opened the sql export file (250mg+, use editpad lite!) find the definitions for the missing table and run that in myphpadmin - two tables missing and we’re up and running again.

Thanks to the previous posters here - most useful! MKOS - loved your rant grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top