Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Magento queries. 

Baldtel01

Total Posts:  1

Hi all

I have a few questions/queries and was wandering if someone can either help me, or give me links to previous discussions which will answer my queries.  I am new to this thing, and I am not so hot on programming, coming from a design background.

I am currently doing designs to skin the magento shopping cart from the front end.

1. Can I have it so that one of my categories of products, is the default home/landing page?  For example, the electronics page/list of products would be on the home page, and have the all the other categories like the links that are currently on the default design?  Is that just a case of setting the home page URL to one of the sub category URL s?  I don’t plan on having the shop tiers too complicated.  Maybe just for or 5 types of products.  So I just wanted one of the types, as the home page, and the links/tabs to the other products.

2. Is there a way, that I can give restricted access to the back end/admin panel for 3rd parties (distributors, warehouse etc)?  I was just thinking something like, they can see the orders for that day/week?  Something simple like that.