Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Add Manufacturer Product Number and Manufacturer name attribue help
 
mk384
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2010-05-21
 

Hello Everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to read this message

I am complete novice to the magento software, but willing to learn, I am currently trying to setup the MageConnector with my magento installation.

Following the tutorial however I am stuck on the first part

“Before installing MageConnector make sure that there are product attributes that will contain
Manufacturer Product Number and Manufacturer name.
Products which doesn’t contain specified data cannot be correctly displayed.
Please notice also that Manufacturer should be written exactly the same way as it is written on
ICEcat (e.g. HP and Hewlett Packard won’t be recognized as the same manufacturers)”

Can anybody please explain how this is done, I have spent hours trying to look for help on forums, tutorials etc but dont understand how I can add these 2 required attributes.

Please please can someone help me out or point me in the right direction

Kind Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Steve Watson
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2010-07-21
 

I m using this extension for shop by manufacturers. try this

http://free-magentoextensions.com/extensions/shop-by-manufacturers.html

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
raait
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2010-07-01
 

@ Ismtech

Manufacturer Product Number is the SKU (this is a unique attribute for all magento products and should be showing by default)
Manufacturer name.(self explanatory) but you’ll need to do the following
1) Click Catalog-->Attribute (Manage Attribute set)
2)Click Default
3) you’ll notice that manufacturer is on the “Unassigned Attributes” section
4)drag manufacturer to “General” section
5) Assuming you have added one product and Icecat is installed
6) System --> configuration-- > Icecat
7) enter login details and if you go tru the manufactures field “manufacturer “ should now be showing

Hope it all makes sense..................

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tomharding
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2011-03-24
 
Steve Watson - 22 July 2010 12:17 AM

I m using this extension for shop by manufacturers. try this

http://free-magentoextensions.com/extensions/shop-by-manufacturers.html

FYI, for all those waiting half an hour to load this ridiculously slow website, this extension is NOT free any more.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top