Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Modern re-design
 
Matto
Member
 
Total Posts:  38
Joined:  2008-05-17
 

Hi All,
I’m trying to use a custom design that is based on the modern template, I have no idea where I can re-write the header so I can move the link area’s and search bar, also I need to add extra padding to the main content block as well as changing setting in the footer. Can anyone tell me where each part of a page design is held within the .phtml files? i.e. which file the header is in, which file the top links are in etc

Or if someone wants to convert my 5 pages of design into the correct .phtml files contact me with a price.

Many thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Smallblock
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2008-06-25
 

Path hints would let you know where each part of the page is generated, here’s a quick video explaining in more detail and telling you how to enable it.

http://www.magentocommerce.com/blog/template-path-hints-tutorial-video/

You may also want to take a look at the design guide to get things started

http://www.magentocommerce.com/design_guide

I hope they help and good luck with the design. If you’d rather not mess with it I’d be happy to check out the design and get you a reasonable price for converting it over, just drop me a line on here.

Take care,

-Zach

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lynts
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-07-08
 

ok so my desing is based of the default what you do is you need to bake a copy for /skin/frontend/default/default rename it to what you want your new skin to be, then go to

and make a copy and rename it the same way you renamed the first one once thats done if you screw up not a big deal start over but your not screwing up the originals, now once you have done that go to

apps/front end/default/default/template/page/header/phtml thats where your header stuff is at and if your redesigning write it in divs not tables i found out the hard way you will have browser issues. and in the skins you need to go the your folder in default and go to css and in box css is where yuou modify your header, thats it and it will take you some time.

i did a whole redesign still working on it but you can see the skin http://www.hubhub.org/globalmarketplace/ i still have search bar issues in IE but almost done but the header and everything is all different

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Matto
Member
 
Total Posts:  38
Joined:  2008-05-17
 

Okay, i’ve got the majority of it working, but I’ve swapped the topMenu with the MenuLinks and neither of them are showing now.

In the header.phtml i’ve got

<div class="header">
        <
h1 id="logo"><a href="<?php echo $this->getUrl('') ?>"><img src="<?php echo $this->getLogoSrc() ?>" alt="<?php echo $this->getLogoAlt() ?>"/></a></h1>
        <
img src="<?php echo $this->getSkinUrl('images/side_logo_promo.gif') ?>" alt="" class="side-logo-promo"/>
        <
div class="top-links">
         
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('topLinks'?>
         
</div>
        <
br class="clearboth" />
              <
div class="shout">Shop securely online or telephone 01785 601411</div>    
                          <
div class="search-bar">
                
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('topSearch'?>
            
</div>
    </
div>

and in my page layout i’ve got

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<
html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $this->getLang() ?>" lang="<?php echo $this->getLang() ?>">
<
head>
    
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('head'?>
</head>

<
body <?php echo $this->getBodyClass()?'class="'.$this->getBodyClass().'"':'' ?>>
<?php /*<p class="demo-notice"><?php echo $this->__('This is a demo store. Any orders placed through this store will not be honored or fulfilled.') ?></p>*/ ?>
    
<div class="no-display">
        <
h4>Skip to Store Area:</h4>
        <
ul>
            <
li><a href="#main"><?php echo $this->__('Skip to Main Content'?></a></li>
            <
li><a href="#footer"><?php echo $this->__('Skip to Footer'?></a></li>
        </
ul>
    </
div>
    <
div class="container">
        
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('header'?>
        
<!-- [end] header -->
        <
div class="outline-creator">
            <
div class="toplinks-bar">
            <
div id="navigation">
            
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('topMenu'?>
            
</div>
                
<?php echo $this->getLayout()->getBlock('header')->getWelcome()?>
             
</div>
            <
div class="middle layout-1column" id="main">
                
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('global_messages'?>
                <?php 
echo $this->getChildHtml('content'?>
                
<!-- [end] content -->
            </
div>
        </
div>
        <
div class="footer" id="footer">
            
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('footer'?>
        
</div>
    </
div>
    
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('before_body_end'?>
    <?php 
echo $this->getAbsoluteFooter() ?>
</body>
</
html>

If anyone can see what i’ve done wrong that would be brilliant and massively appreciated.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lynts
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-07-08
 

can i see your css where it calls for your images look at the source code that i wrote for http://www.hubhub.org/marketplace the links show up how i wrote it. the css gives the code the positioning and then the div is in the header and i took out the nav so it would work. once i did that everything works on every page please make sure your using a copy file so that you can allways go back to the original if you mess up

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Syndia
Member
 
Total Posts:  38
Joined:  2008-04-01
Netherlands, The
 

If you switch from header or to footer or something else, you have also to change it in the layout xml file.

For example: the .xml file for the navigation from the catalog categories is your_design_dir/layout/catalog.xml

I hope this will help you to get on your way wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top