Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Looking for a shared host for Magento

CdnJoe

Total Posts:  11

Hi there I am brand new to magneto and so far this product is very interesting.

I have installed it on my current host netfirms.ca but its very slow 5-27s loadtimes for mainpage…
Also alot of the optimization options require a vps at minimum…

I am looking for a shared host in Canada or US that has decent load times for a small store 300-400 items..
I would like to try out some accounts if possible as I would hate to go through the hassle of changing hosts only to be disapointed as I have seen other posts with vendors offering test accounts for 30-60 days…

What should I expect for loadtimes on a shared host?

Can anyone make some reccomendations please?

I have been looking at Aspiration Hosting, Simple Helix, Helping Hand Host, Nexcess and Elief and would appreciate you comments and experiances with these hosts..

Thank You

CdnJoe

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

CdnJoe

Thought I wold post an update as I am feeling excessively chatty…

I have emailed sales at Aspiration Hosting, Simple Helix, Helping Hand Host, Nexcess and Elief.

Hopefully I will get a change to test out a few of these providers and I will share my results and thoughts…

Heres what I got so far, I actually used the chat funtion first on Simple Helix, but the agent clearly stated they would not offer me a trial account but I can get a 30 day money back guarantee for $19.95 a month. I was a little disapointed with the blunt answer...so I also emailed sales....