Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How do I change the category heading tags to <h1>

Malcom Media

Total Posts:  21
Dallas, TX

I am trying to change my category headings from <h2> to <h1> tags and I must be doing something wrong… I’m a novice.

I edited both view.phtml and page.phtml in this directory: app/design/frontend/default/default/template/catalog/category/

I changed in page.phtml:

<div class="page-head-alt">
    <
h2><?php echo $this->getTitle() ?></h2>
</
div>
<
div>

<?php echo $this->getContent() ?>
</div>

to:

<div class="page-head-alt">
    <
h1><?php echo $this->getTitle() ?></h1>
</
div>
<
div>

<?php echo $this->getContent() ?>
</div>

and in the view.phtml file:

<?php echo $this->getMessagesBlock()->getGroupedHtml() ?>
<?php 
if($this->isContentMode()): ?>

<div class="category-head">

<?php if($this->IsRssCatalogEnable() && $this->IsTopCategory()): ?>

<a href="<?php echo $this->getRssLink() ?>" class="link-feed right"><?php echo $this->__('Subscribe to RSS Feed'?></a>

<?php endif; ?>

<h2><?php echo $this->htmlEscape($this->getCurrentCategory()->getName()) ?></h2>
    </
div>

to this:

<?php echo $this->getMessagesBlock()->getGroupedHtml() ?>
<?php 
if($this->isContentMode()): ?>

<a href="<?php echo $this->getRssLink() ?>" class="link-feed right"><?php echo $this->__('Subscribe to RSS Feed'?></a>

<?php endif; ?>

<h1><?php echo $this->htmlEscape($this->getCurrentCategory()->getName()) ?></h1>
    </
div>

The category headings are still displaying as <h2>. Did I edit the wrong files? What am I missing?

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community