Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

so here is a dumb question
 
lynts
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-07-08
 

im new to magento and need to figure out how to make my slices for my own navigation move to where i need them, .css isnt working and header.phtml is where i know im on the right track heres the link to show you what i mean http://www.hubhub.org/globalmarketplace/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Voot
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  261
Joined:  2008-03-20
Long Beach, CA
 

Hi, I looked at your site and noticed that you used <table> to setup your navigation. You can use divs and add class styles under boxes.css. Or if you want to stick with <table> (which I dont recommend) you can add style="margin-top:50px; margin-left:50px” to the table tags. This will move the navigation around. Play around with the “50px” and you should be able to position the nav where you want. Hope this helps.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lynts
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-07-08
 

so i am able to bring it down but i cant move it to the left

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Voot
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  261
Joined:  2008-03-20
Long Beach, CA
 

try doing “margin-left:-50px;” notice the negative sign.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lynts
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-07-08
 

doing that gives me a css parsing error

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Voot
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  261
Joined:  2008-03-20
Long Beach, CA
 

hmm it shouldn’t, are you using css to style the <table> tag? or did you change it to a div?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lynts
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-07-08
 

yea i had to change it in css but now i have another problem the slices dont show up on any other page except the front page and the slices are in header.phtml

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top