Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
One page checkout not retrieving shipping methods
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 

Has anyone noticed with the OPC with 1.1.6 that it is not retrieving the shipping methods UNLESS you get a quote on the checkout page before proceeding to the OPC?

Any ideas as to what is causing this and how to fix it? This happened with an upgrade from 1.0.19870.1 to 1.1.6.

See http://www.eaglecoffee.com/shop for an example

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Alekc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-05-29
 

I have had similar issue after update similar to yours…

Have you updated app/design/....yourSkin../onepage.phtml and opcheckout.js from skin folder with newer version from 1.1.6?

My checkout procedure was pretty screwed up without these (and maybe some other, it’s difficult to remember now) changes.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
shay
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-05-01
israel
 

Hi everybody,

i have the same broplam

I have an online store that is already “on air” and some buyers have reported me about the same problem:
They place items in the shopping cart and go to checkout page.
On the checkout page they insert the shipping and billing addresses and they can not proceed to the shipping method section.
I tried but I can not reproduce the problem on any of my computers and I have no idea what the problem is…

Any suggestions are welcomed. 
I am using Magento ver. 1.1.4

Please, please, please help me!

thanks!
shay

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
LindyKyaw
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2008-01-02
Los Angeles
 

Shay,

Did you ask your customer what browser they are using?
And try to use the same browser as customer and see if you can get recreate the issue.
Or did you try to use the same address or same step as customer (checkout as guest, register on OPC) to recreate the issue?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
shay
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-05-01
israel
 

Hi,
Yes, I asked them.
They were using internet explorer v. 7 under windows XP.
I am using the same configuration and when I entered the store under the customer’s user, I had no problem completing the transaction.
Any suggestion/ help will be highly appreciated (it happened to another customer today and I have no idea how to solve this problem).
thanks,
Shay

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mike222
Member
 
Total Posts:  41
Joined:  2008-04-07
Austria
 

Hello,

I have the same problem with version 1.0.19870.6 !

Whenever a customer wants to add an address during the Onepage checkout process and wants to save the address:
- The address is NOT saved in customer_address_* tables
- The field “save_in_address_book” in the table sales_quote_address is set to 1
- Mage_Checkout_Block_Onepage_Shipping_Method_Available:getShippingRates() does not return any shipping rate.

Seems it does not matter if the customer wanna store a billing address or a shipping address.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mike222
Member
 
Total Posts:  41
Joined:  2008-04-07
Austria
 

Seems I found the problem.

When starting the log in the admin-backend system-configuration I can see “HEADERS ALREADY SENT” messages whenever a request from OnePage is made.
After examining the code I found a debug-output. It seems that Javascript does not like debugs before the header is sent therefore I removed all debugs and voilla - it works now!

Hope that info helps some of you.

btw. The address is still not stored in the addressbook.

regards,

Mike

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MuschPusch
Member
 
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2008-04-24
 

Same problem here…

@mike222: could you please be a little more specific?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mike222
Member
 
Total Posts:  41
Joined:  2008-04-07
Austria
 

Hello MuschPusch,

First I enabled the log in the Admin: System-developer-log settings.

After some requests you should find a logfile in {magento}/var/log.

When I performed the tasks being talked here (Onepage-checkout, add new address, go to shipping methods) I recognized “HEADERS ALREADY SENT” messages in the logfile.

After examining this I found out that this message is written in the Mage_Core_Controller_Response_Http class whenever the program made an output before that point (e.g. print_r(), echo() ). After removing all echo() and print_r() and - in my case - debug::show() methods the message disappeared when performing the described tasks and the issue also disappeared. I do see the shipping methods now as expected.

My own explanation to that is that the javascript - which made the request and expects the reply - needs the http-headers. But these headers will not be sent when some output occured before the program is at that point.

Hope that this description is better than the previous. One should not write such things in foreign languages at 1:30 am in the night grin

regards,

Mike

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
illo_sdrawkcab
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2008-10-23
 

I have same problem.

but when i do it like mark i didnt get a system.log.
Where i have to remove echos and prints ?

Greets Olli

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Nicolas
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Hi,

I have a similar problem with 5% of people who want top place an order.
My website is in production with magento 1.1.6 (new install and not an upgrade).
My website was in production with magento 1.1.4 and i had the same problem.

People who have this problem have Firefox 2/3 or IE 6/7.

When they choose the payment method and click to continue, “next step” is loading but they don’t access to the next step.

Apache log :

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:57:35 +0100] "GET /checkout/onepage/ HTTP/1.1" 200 79333 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:58:54 +0100] "POST /checkout/onepage/saveBilling/ HTTP/1.1" 200 920 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:58:54 +0100] "POST /checkout/onepage/getAdditional/ HTTP/1.1" 200 2623 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:58:55 +0100] "GET /checkout/onepage/progress/ HTTP/1.1" 200 1188 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:59:32 +0100] "POST /checkout/onepage/saveShippingMethod/ HTTP/1.1" 200 1192 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:59:32 +0100] "GET /checkout/onepage/progress/ HTTP/1.1" 200 1583 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:59:45 +0100] "POST /checkout/onepage/savePayment/ HTTP/1.1" 200 2380 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:12:59:54 +0100] "POST /checkout/onepage/savePayment/ HTTP/1.1" 200 2380 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

XX.XXX.XX.XXX - - [25/Nov/2008:13:00:20 +0100] "POST /checkout/onepage/savePayment/ HTTP/1.1" 200 2380 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)"

....

I lose many orders every day (between 5 and 20 every day) and I don’t know what to do.
I have verified many times with the same configuration as people who have problems, but I can place an order.
My serveris very fast and I dont’ have problem with Apache.
I don’t understand why 5% of people can not click on “continue” after payment step with IE6, IE7, Firefox 2, or Firefox 3.
(I look Apache Log and customers phone our customer service)

I know people can not place an order with Safari 1, Safari 2, IE 5.5, Firefox 1.0, and Firefox 1.5, but customers who have this problem are not with these browsers.

I have verified and I don’t have log for that in system.log or exception.log.

Please help me…

I’m waiting every day a checkout script without Ajax, because I can not continue to loose orders.

Thanks in advance…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
illo_sdrawkcab
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2008-10-23
 

I have hoped that this bug will be fixed in version 1.17 but i tested it and its the same problem.
I tested opera, IE 6/7 and Firefox 2/3 and it doesnt work.

Is it a bug ? Or could it be a fault in the template ?
Cause if i test it with the default template it all works as it should.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Nicolas
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

br_olli, Do you have the same problem with loading after “payment method” ?

All of your customers have this problem or only a part ?

I think the cause is not the template.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
joelene
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2008-12-01
 

I am also getting this error - and it is driving me crazy. Please can someone suggest a fix for this - I really don’t see why this has to rely on javascript.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ktripp
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  29
Joined:  2007-12-21
Missouri
 

I am having the same problem and i am running version 1.0.19870.1. After entering the billing information and clicking continue. It says loading next step, but nothing happens. This is firefox. In internet explorer, I don’t even get to the billing information step. It goes to a bad url page. I have another store up that runs great, but this new one has been giving me this problem all week. Does anyone know how to fix this?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
squirrels
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  93
Joined:  2008-08-27
 

I’m all of a sudden having the same problem but with Shipping method - the site was working perfectly - until this morning.
Suddenly I can’t get past Shipping method on the one page checkout (but only on one of my site views, the English one works perfectly). When I click on next the page says “Loading next step...” but nothing more happens. I stay on Shipping methods and I don’t get any further.

I’m using Magento 1.1.6 and I have tried this both on Mac and PC and in different browsers (IE, FF, Safari) with the same result.

Could someone from the Magento team address this please - it seems a big enough problem!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2