Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Zen Cart refugee

TapTapper

Total Posts:  21
Hudson Valley, NY, US

Hi All

I’m a Zen Cart admin, hoping to move to Magento. 

A couple days ago I was hunting down a zc error in some forum and ran into a mention of Magento.  So I checked it out and boy does this look amazing!  I’m sooo SICK of that same old, same old look of zc sites (unless you pay $$$ for custom design etc).  I’m a data person and a coder, design and layout isn’t my thing.  I really like the way Magento looks out of the box.

Wish me luck!  btw I love the screencasts.

--Pat

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

yippie2009

Total Posts:  11

hey Pat,

Wondering how your conversion is going to Magento. I also was a ZenCart user, and to be honest I am not yet fully convinced that Magento is best for me. While there are certainly features that come stock in Magento (ability to slice and dice the catalog using store views, related products, cross selling, etc) that need to be added on in ZC, overall, besides a nice design sense that you mentioned, I am not so bowled over by what Magento offers.

I think my gripe is that the developers purposely left several basic customization methods out of the admin module (or yours truly has not found them yet). Coming from ZenCart, I could switch from 2 or 3 columns, add or suspend blocks at will, resize columns, etc all without having to touch the CSS or any PHP files.