Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

“Add to Compare” doesn’t work [Solved]
 
Brett
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  121
Joined:  2007-12-01
 

When I try to add a product to compare, a green box appears near the top of the page saying the item has been successfully added to compare, but it is never added to the compare box. The compare box always says “You have no items to compare.” It was all working… The only add on I installed is the blog, which i removed to no avail. Is anyone else having this same issue?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brett
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  121
Joined:  2007-12-01
 

What luck, it seems that enabling the caches (not sure which one) under Cache Management makes the compare work.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fanis
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  72
Joined:  2009-11-24
 

I am having same problem. All of a sudden withought changing absolutely anything and no new module the new products wont appear on my frontpage and add to comapre doesnt work...i am adding products but the block stays empty. Any clues?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fanis
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  72
Joined:  2009-11-24
 

Ok so if anyone ever comes up with something similiar with add to compare not working or new products not showing on homepage (even tho the block is there as you can see from display hints/block) just re index your website even tho it says everything is reindexed.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
guillaume7684
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  241
Joined:  2008-10-20
 

Hello,

I have exactly the same problem.

My magento is 1.5.0.1
My theme is default-default
No files are modified, all the files are originals.

1°/ When I insert a widget to display the new products on my homepage, no products are displayed, even though I added period date for some products.
2°/ When I add products to compare, I have the green message “products are added to compare”, but the compare sidebar is empty.

I tried to empty the cache + index management.

Thank you for your help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Yunus1
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  147
Joined:  2011-08-02
 

I have the same problem.

Have you found a soloution?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Bamm Bamm
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2012-02-01
 

I’m having this same problem too.  Version 1.6.2.0 Did anyone find a solution?

I noticed that the same problem seems to be happening with my wishlist too.

These bugs will temporarily go away if you click the “sort by” button.  Which makes me think this issue has something to do with the View.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
akewmagento
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2011-06-12
 
Bamm Bamm - 25 February 2012 10:36 PM

I’m having this same problem too.  Version 1.6.2.0 Did anyone find a solution?

I noticed that the same problem seems to be happening with my wishlist too.

These bugs will temporarily go away if you click the “sort by” button.  Which makes me think this issue has something to do with the View.

Yes, me too. It’s time to remove add to compare. LOL

http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/4_-_themes_and_template_customization/catalog/how_to_remove_add_to_compare#create_the_override_class

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dorgo
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  127
Joined:  2008-12-16
 

I am having the same issue and Bamm Bamm is correct, changing the sort gets it to work again .....

Anyone have a fix? Removing the functionality doesn\’t deserve a [Solved]

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Peter Knol
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2011-02-01
 

Same problem here… on ver 1.6.2
Somehow I can only and just one of my products to compare. Just this one product.
I’ll keep digging, removing Add to Compare is not a solution, agreed!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Dorgo
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  127
Joined:  2008-12-16
 

The problem for me was that magento was not creating logs for users who were not logged in.

My local.xml had the following lines:-

<frontend
            <
events
                <
controller_action_predispatch
                    <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
                </
controller_action_predispatch
                <
controller_action_postdispatch
                    <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
                </
controller_action_postdispatch
                <
customer_login
                    <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
                </
customer_login
                <
customer_logout
                    <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
                </
customer_logout
                <
sales_quote_save_after
                    <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
                </
sales_quote_save_after
                <
checkout_quote_destroy
                    <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
                </
checkout_quote_destroy
            </
events
        </
frontend>

Changing these from disabled to enabled fixed the issue.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
caricarreira
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2011-12-16
 

I found a solution, (worked for me)
Go to admin -> sytem -> index maneagement ->
Select all and re-index.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Alaska
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2011-11-09
 

In my case it was also caused by an update of app/etc/local.xml as recommended by my hosting provider to decrease server load of logging db calls and as referred to by Dorgo.

<frontend
      <
events
        <
controller_action_predispatch
            <
observers><log><type>enabled</type></log></observers
        </
controller_action_predispatch
        <
controller_action_postdispatch
            <
observers><log><type>enabled</type></log></observers
        </
controller_action_postdispatch
        <
customer_login
            <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
        </
customer_login
        <
customer_logout
            <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
        </
customer_logout
        <
sales_quote_save_after
            <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
        </
sales_quote_save_after
        <
checkout_quote_destroy
            <
observers><log><type>disabled</type></log></observers
        </
checkout_quote_destroy
      </
events
    </
frontend>

I only had to enable the first two events after which the ‘add to compare’ functionality worked again. Thank you Dorgo for pointing me in the right direction in my case.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
alexnucci
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-05-01
 

Tried the above and it did not work for me but did something that did.

I happen to be using Memcached. I had to do a cache flush through telnet for it to start working again.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top